February 13, 2009

  • Outside Fun

     

    Regardless of how desperately I have missed “real” winter this year, I have absolutely nothing to complain about when the days down here have been in the 80′s. It is completely delightful!! Everything is still as brown as can be, so I try to overlook the lack of loveliness around me by remembering that come Springtime, it actually does become very beautiful here. And Springtime is just around the corner, for us Southern folks! These days now actually feel like early summer in the north.

    Having a little toddler that begs to go outside each and every day, I am equally delighted when the weather permits her to go out and play - for hours, if I allow it. She feeds the dog [or so she thinks: dumps her food all over the garage floor], then goes and inspects the 100 remaining chickens [notice the numbers are slowly decreasing].  The past few days we’ve had a little adventure with the chickens. Nothing major to most of you, I’m sure, but when I’m the 28-week-pregnant woman racing around in the yard trying to catch 6 football-sized chickens running away from you, I consider it a rather large feat to get them all back in. Now when we feed them, we are ever so careful to c-a-r-e-f-u-l-l-y close all possible latches whereby the chickens could escape. We don’t want all 100 running away from me, now do we?? No, indeed we do not. In that case, I’m sure the remaining number of chickens would decrease even more rapidly, as Large Pregnant Women are not very good Candidates for Catching Chickens.

    Last Saturday Ben has a side job to do, and because it was his 3rd Saturday in a row that he was going to be gone, he asked me if I’d want to go along with him. My first reaction was that I’d love to go – if it would be only me. Taking an 18-month old along to a side construction job didn’t sound like a very good idea though… Who knows what all she would get into? And how in the world would I keep her entertained the whole 4-5 hours?? But going along seemed to be better than staying at home alone, so we all piled in Ben’s Blue Bulldog [what we affectionately call his early 90's Chevy truck] and away we went.

    I grabbed my camera on the way out the door, and snapping pictures was what I ended up doing all afternoon. The lighting was too bright for the the color to look good, so I shot on monochrome. And what fun using the new camera lense I’m buying from Marylou!

    For those of you who aren’t family, this might be rather boring – mostly pictures of Zoe! :)

    IMG_5197

    IMG_5200

    The dear older man for whom Ben was working… I tried so hard to get a secretive shot of him smoking his pipe, and this was the best I could do without him knowing it. I was snapping pictures of Zoe’ all around him, so he didn’t know I also wanted this one of him! I felt like I was back in time with him sitting there with his old pipe…

    IMG_5205

    She found all kinds of things in his yard to drag around…

    IMG_5212

    IMG_5214

    and found Daddy’s tools most fascinating.

    IMG_5228

    IMG_5233

    IMG_5234

    He was very concerned that we didn’t get hungry or thirsty, even though we had packed a lunch of our own, and brought out ice-cold coca-cola and chocolates for a snack. Zoe’ was thrilled!

    IMG_5226

    IMG_5224

    He owns this adorable old, old tractor… wish I would have taken this in color so you can see the bright red…

    IMG_5249

    and this old barn is his…

    IMG_5253

    this large pond…

    IMG_5254

    was right behind his house where Ben was working. All day I kept fearing that Zoe’ would decide to run and jump into it, and almost drown. Thankfully she decided to do no such thing…

    IMG_5267

    IMG_5307

    I had nothing planned for supper with being gone most of the day, so we whipped up some broiled sub sandwiches. And just for fun, using my new lense, seeing how I can focus on one tomato with the rest being blurry… Ooooo, that makes me hungry all over again…

    IMG_5297

    Time for a little sunshine! Have a splendid weekend – each and every one!

     

Comments (11)

  • Believe me…there are people who would love to endure your weather!
    Your baby is adorable and that sandwich looks scrumptious!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  • What a fun way to spend a Sat.! 

    I’m feeling like I wasn’t very sociable last night…sorry!  I slept in this morning and feel much better–about life in general, as does Roland!!(:

  • Beautiful pictures! And cute girlie-girl! That little scrunched-up-nose look that Zoe has on a few of those pictures looks like one of Dietrich’s favorite expressions these days–esp. when he’s acting crazy.

    About the book that was sent your way: it was supposed to have a beautifully, hand-written inscription on the inside cover, or at least a follow-up email to explain. But, uh, in the rush of hastily dropping it off at the post office and in the busyness of the past week, I completely forgot about all of the above ideas. =) So here’s the explanation. I bought it last year sometime before Christmas, thinking that if we ever got together as we were planning to, that I would give it to Zoe as a Christmas gift. Something about the story of the little girl with her daddy, the snow, and all just made me think that it was a book for Zoe (and her mamma). Well, we never did see each other, so I decided it would work at a later date . . . and when you sent the “give a book” letter thingy . . . and then I needed to mail that other book to you anyway, I figured NOW was a good time to send Zoe’s book too. =) Aren’t the pictures and the story great?

  • Little Zoe’ is such a cutie! And, even in black and white, your photos make me anxious for spring!!

    have a Happy Valentine’s Day and relaxing weekend!
    ~Rachel

  • Oh, don’t tell me that. I have 5 weeks to go till I hit the third trimester. :( It was kind of discouraging to me to think that I really have not felt well for an entire week this whole pregnancy and w/ getting that close to third trimester, the pattern just may follow. In times like this I have to remind myself of the wonderful joy it is to be able to carry a baby! And thankfully, even with the yuckiness, the weeks seem to speeding along–probably because I have so much I want to accomplish before due date. Hope you have a great week!

  • Glad you’re like the lens! :) That sub looks delish and yes, I can see that narrow DOF. :) I had to laugh when I read the part about winter looking drab. I was just thinking about that the other day and wishing for green again. That’s what inspired my poem I just posted. Me, a poet? Ha.

  • aww, thanks for posting pictures of the baby! i never get tired of seeing her adorable face although it makes me miss you all the more. recently, i’ve been having these great ideas for throwing you a smashing baby shower but then i remember you live a bajillion miles away…

  • i took you up on your idea…and am spending some wonderful moments of solitude in a little corner of prince street cafe! =) i wish you could be here too…could fill you in on my little nursing stories of the past week! =) and to think that you used to live just a few blocks from here…*sniff* oh & pleeeeease go early with the babe, so i can come see it over school break!! i’ll even pay for the pitocin med to start contractions!! (ok, never mind-i don’t have medical insurance yet…lol!)

  • Thanks for the tips on coupons.  I’ll have to check out Publix & Sweetbay more diligently and see how I can save there.  I have this idea that Wal-Mart is the cheapest store around, but if they don’t run sales or do coupons like some other stores, then I guess not!  Just the other day I was reading on couponmom.com on how to “Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half”; I’m so excited to try her system & see how much I can save.   

    And it was great to see you the other weekend; I love re-uniting with old friends, especially if they were from Lancaster, too!  Have a great day!

  • I even thought about you when it was snowing. :) I know just what you mean about being sad that you’re children won’t know a “real” winter. That wasn’t my particular issue, but I remember my shock in TX. I was talking to my first graders about raking up piles of leaves to jump into and they stared at me with blank faces. What?!!! Who would have ever guessed what an adjustment even seasons and the loss of emotional connections come from moving to a different location.

  • @twofus_1 - awww, that makes me feel all special that you thought of me in that wonderful snowy moment! :) I know, so interesting how seasons play with my emotions so much…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *