March 3, 2009

  • Feeling like a Prairie Woman

     

    I told Ben the other day that I feel like a Prairie Woman. I feed the chickens, hang my laundry on the washline, have no internet access (he’s been taking the computer every day to work on a real estate course), and then we run out of hot water and have only cold water for everything for several days. The only thing I need yet is a horse & cart and the long hoop skirts! Ha! It feels like quite the adventure around here the past few weeks! ‘Adventure’ meaning that I feel very domesticated – with no internet, I find I have all kinds of time for doing things around the house… Amazing all that I get done in a day! :) All kinds of projects, creative juices flowing, books are getting read, making a few cards…  Zoe’ and I have been sitting at the piano and playing/singing sometimes too, something she started begging for. She’ll sing with me sometimes, but mostly just try to imitate my playing. I can’t help but giggle as she tries to do a run all over the keyboard (something I did just to see if she’d try it too!), and she intently watches my fingers and hands then tries to repeat the same motion. Just as sweet as can be!

    Now that I’m on the computer again, Zoe’ can hardly take it. Thinks she needs to be involved in this too, like she’s been involved in many other of my projects. Calls, “Mama, Mama, Mama!!!” until I pay her some attention, then she’ll happily jabber about the picture she’s drawing, or the song she’s playing on the piano. Most of her jabbers I can’t understand, but she jabbers most of her waking hours. Makes me wonder what it’ll be like when she’s talking for real! Some of favorite things to say (that I can understand) are “Ready to go!!” when we’re going away, “Where did it go?” when looking for something, “There it is!” when it’s found. Sometimes our little family will be getting ready to go away, and Zoe’ often ends up waiting on one or the other of us since one or the other of us will get her ready before ourselves (whew, sorry about the long sentance!). And she’ll run to the door, expectantly waiting, but when we don’t come, she’ll run back to the bedroom, “Ready to go!!” she’ll say, then run back out to the door. This process is repeated several times before we actually leave, and when we finally exit the house she’ll be almost beside herself with the built-up excitement.

    IMG_5318

    IMG_5315

    yes, we are picking daffodils in this part of the world!

    IMG_5329

     

    ***********************************************************

    30 weeks. That marks the progress of this pregnancy so far. And I have to say – I have absolutely loved being pregnant this time around! For one thing, it’s been such an easy pregnancy, no sickness. At all. Brushing teeth is the only thing that’s made me throw up, and even that is getting better. With my first pregnancy, I was a little scared of all the changes that were happening inside and outside of me (!!) and just a little nervous about the whole thing. I would still say I enjoyed my pregnancy with her, but with this one I just love it! I’m excited about the Baby Bump, have actually enjoyed growing a little larger (I can still say that now because I’m not uncomfortable yet, and have been wearing maternity clothes for about a month now), and other than feeling lots of baby movement, I can hardly tell I’m pregnant because I feel so great! That is something I feel very blessed with, especially with chasing a toddler around all day…

    I think this is the first pregnancy picture I’ve taken, simply because I didn’t pop for so long. But now that I’m popping, I just keep on popping!

    30 weeks

    IMG_5323

    I was thinking last night about being a mommy, and what a wonderful experience it’s been for me. I attribute a lot of this to the teaching that was given to me by my parents, how motherhood and having a family was seen as such a positive thing in our home. We were encouraged to live with all of our hearts wherever we are, and I did that as a single person as well. My single years were super wonderful! But as I’ve entered motherhood, I know a lot of the positive mindset I have toward this place in life is due to my parents, and the value of family that I have received came from the wonderful family life I experienced growing up. So, thank you, mom and dad!

     

    *********************************************************

    Coupons. I have  been on a coupon/sale binge ever since going on a cash budget for groceries this year. At first I was s.t.r.e.s.s.i.n.g. about it, didn’t know where to find coupons locally or how to “use the coupon system” – all you couponers know what I’m talking about! After talking with a lady from church who is THE Coupon Queen, AND another friend down here that is as coupon happy as I am :) )  (right, Linda?!) I feel like I learned a lot and know more where to go with it. I am *definitely* still in the learning stages of it all, but now I am actually having FUN with it! You know you’ve got it bad when you come home from a Kmart double-coupon run and feel hyper about getting toilet paper!  On sale for 2-12 rolls packs of Scott Extra-Soft for $11. Oh, and don’t forget I have a $1 off coupon per pack. Oh, and don’t forget it’s double coupon week at Kmart. So I got 2 packs (24 double rolls) of toilet paper for $7. Cheesy, I know, but I couldn’t stop exclaiming to Ben about how happy I was with my deal. :)

    And this little batch of goodies was also purchased with the double-coupon days at Kmart. I received $14 off the total purchase just using coupons. Too bad I couldn’t combine this with a store sales – with double coupons that week they didn’t have much on sale!

    IMG_5331

    Now, some of you avid couponers, as well as you that live in areas with discount stores, may not think this is anything to talk about. BUT let me just say that this kind of stuff is HUGE stuff for us down here!! :) So Sunday Paper, eBay, etc. etc. etc. is getting quite a bit of attention from me the past little while. I’m also learning that other than the occasional double coupon at Kmart deal, it is not worth it for me to  grocery shop/use coupons here in town. It may be an hour drive to the next nearest grocery stores, but the prices are much more worth driving for, as well as the *real* grocery store coupons/sales/buy one get one kinds of deals. With Walmart as the main grocery store right here in town (one other small store with even higher prices), and not many store sales in groceries, they are able to raise their prices to a ridiculous  heights.  So bye-bye to Wally World, and so much for the Rollback they’re bragging about. I have a bit of a grudge toward our local Walmart (especially after Zoe’ was born and I tried to return some duplicate/extra baby  items that were given to me, and I was accused of stealing because I had no receipt – a whole story in itself), and knowing they raise their prices here just because they have no competition, and after seeing what kinds of deals I can get just by driving a little further, I have no desire to return to the Rollback store.

    So, that’s just a bit of the fun I’ve been having with coupons. :) Although I don’t know how I’m going to continue this system when Baby Love #2 arrives… Driving an hour one way for groceries, plus the other stops at CVS or Walgreens… That feels overwhelming to me at this point. Right now Zoe’ is doing great with being my assistant-errand-runner, but when I have two???? I’d love to hear from some of you other moms on that, how you do it, what you do…

    ************************************************************

    Be blessed this week by the One Who truly knows and loves you!

    -CBY

     

     

Comments (36)

  • I don’t know you except through xanga, but I thoroughly enjoy seeing your creativity displayed through your projects & pictures. I wanted to say “Thank you!” for continuing to blog & letting your site be public. I can totally understand your feelings of hurt by being misunderstood; I’ve had my share of those. Misunderstandings will happen whether via the internet or in person; unfortunately, it’s part of the fallen world we live in. However, it’s important to forgive & move on, striving not to let the hurt mold us into someone we were not meant to be. I know it’s terribly hard, but I’ve found that when I think of the pain our Saviour wrongfully endured, that helps me. He knows exactly how I’m feeling at that point, & yet He totally forgave. He will help you through the pain to the point of forgiveness; it’s a journey, but He will walk it with you. Thanks again for sharing your bits of beauty through words & photos; you’ve been an inspiration & encouragement to me!

  • I just love those cards you made – where do you get such neat envelopes? And, I wanted you to know I enjoy your thoughts, great stories, creative ideas, and beautiful pictures! I am so glad you are not shutting down.

  • I, too, wanted to say thanks for keeping on. I don’t really know you, I just know we have mutual cousins, but I always enjoy your blogs for the creativity you show, but most of all for the joy that comes through–in the photos AND the words. Your desire to live each day “with acceptance and joy of all that God brings into my life” truly does shine through and challenges me.
    Blessings…

  • awww! so fun to see a post from you again. i was just thinking this morning that i should call you again. you haven’t gotten rid of the cell phone in your prairie woman quest have you?!:)

    only ten weeks yet to go. how exciting!!!! you’re looking really cute. i wish we could see each other and hang out again. it’s been so long. guess next time we see each other our little babies will be meeting for the first time.

    and don’t shut your site down… if someone has a problem with it, it’s THEIR problem!

  • Please don’t stop writing.  I always leave your posts feeling encouraged….  I love your heart for God.

  • i love your coupon deals. i started couponing in aug of last year and it has turned into a total hobby for me. i really enjoy the free deals you get at cvs! good luck with it.

  • Couponing is awsome!! Always glad to find a fellow couponer!  I am sad that you live so far from the stores though!

  • I’m glad your pregnancy is going so well–and what a sweet maternity photo.

    I love that verse. I’m glad you’ve decided not to let someone’s misinterpretation of you stop you from blessing others. Reading your site always inspires me…inspires me to be creative, to be a better mom, and to pursue a deeper relationship with Christ. So thanks!

  • you look soooo good for being 30 weeks along and only 10 to go!–amazing! :) cute pregnancy pic. i think i need to try the whole coupon thing-it just seems too overwhelming! i know someone that does that and loves it-i think i just need to try it cuz once you get used to it, it’d be addicting! and yes i too am glad you’re not shuttin down-i love to see what’s goin on in your life and your creativity amazes me! much love, esther

  • aww, girl, so sorry this had to happen to you! Kudos to you for being brave and bold to continue on. I’d want to retreat like a turtle. I’m only starting to feel comfortable enough to write my true thoughts. I often just do pics and let them ‘talk’.  I have loved your thoughts, smiles, funny stories, and frustrations in your everyday life!

    The countdown is on!! YAY! I love the single digits! Are you planning on coming to Lanc. for the birth? Blessings as you prepare for the new little one. praying….

  • Hello Prairie Woman! (if you ever started a new blog or website, you already know what the new name would have to be, right?) Anyway, if no internet is what it takes to get creative juices flowing, I’ll have to unplug mine for a while–maybe. =) I love the cards you made, and like another person asked, I’m wondering where you got those adorable envelopes!

    Isn’t life with these toddlers great? I find myself laughing at D so many times in a day. I’m also trying to get him to say something besides “mama” for every exclamation, question, and cry! I’m beginning to feel like the Alpha & Omega or maybe the Trinity . . . you know, everything starts and stops with ME. He really does know other words ’cause he’ll pop those out at times when he’s not really thinking about it, but if the lazy bone kicks in or if I’m encouraging him to say *something* besides “mama”, then he just wrinkles up his little nose, tucks in his chin, and GRINS from ear to ear.

    Way to go with the coupon deals . . . I’m heading out today with my CVS list and a few other stops to get some deals. Did you tap into the GREAT Huggies coupons available this week/month?? I’m going to try stockpiling for the wee one coming and thot this deal would be a great place to start!

    And finally (as I end this small epistle), thanks for blogging! I always look forward to hearing from in this way “in between” our phone calls. And I was just telling my mom the other day that sometimes I just ACHE to have you live close by so that you could teach me/help me with certain creative projects where you inherited your share of talent PLUS mine too–leaving me with 0. =)And I could teach you something in return or just do some good ‘ole babysitting for you. Anyway, twill talk with you soon!

  • Life brings about wind and waves….we are going through some right now. You are right in that we live in a fallen, sinful world. It seems so unfair sometimes when people assume wrong things and misjudge. I like your xanga site…it always encourages me….keep it up.

  • I found you on Jana’s site last fall when you wrote about your cousin’s death. I enjoyed your style of writing and have been stopping back on occasion since. One of the things I love about your writing is the honest, realistic approach to life and its’ callenges not to mention the way you seem to find a way to still “Praise Him in the Storm” So, please, do keep writing=)

  • I love reading your posts.You’ve often been a challenge/encouragement to me even tho I barely know you. I sense your love for God, Your husband and your sweet little one(s). :) Ialso love to see how you decorate,etc. You’re so gifted. I looove those cards you made. I’m curious, too– where did you get your envelopes? Keep on living your life for Jesus. He’s the One Who matters.

  • oh sister dearest, you’re the coolest prairie woman i know. *grins* AND you’re looking gorgeously pregnant. i can’t wait to meet the sweet baby… i’m so proud of your courage and beautiful heart. you know i’m your biggest supporter, right? (well, besides ben. and dad. and mom.) love you to the moon!

  • Well, I’m going to put my name in with the others who have said they enjoy your site and are grateful that you’re not shutting it down.  I really enjoy your stories about life & the honesty that you show.  You are a gifted writer & so many times I’ve been inspired by what you say; you allow your heart to shine through, and that in itself is a gift! 

  • Welcome to the world of couponing!  I’ve been doing that for as long as I can remember.  I so miss our newspaper in VA where the Sunday paper was full of coupons, groceries and restaurants.  We would always eat out where I had coupons for.  And Harris Teeter’s “triple coupons” were always wonderful.  Also, I’m sure you’ve found store brand products are just as good as name brands, for the most part.  I rarely buy name brand things. 

  • P.S.  I also meant to mention…. I’m sure you know this too… In case you ever venture back to Wally World, they do match other stores prices.  So if you don’t want to run to CVS, Walgreens, etc. to get their deals, make WalMart match them.  I do it quite frequently even if it’s only .05 on an item.  And Ebay… that’s our life.  We’ve gotten so many deals on there, including our pick-up, 4-wheelers, jet-ski, lawnmower, work truck, plus hundreds of smaller things.  We’ve sold a lot of things on there too.  Our feedback # is 1661, so you know we use it a lot.

  • Hey Prairee Lady! :) Maybe you could be P-Ell instead of P-Dub (Pioneer Woman). Just a suggestion. :) So…. I have 10 more weeks to figure out if it’s a boy or girl. Hmmmm. Gotta get more creative. Or tricky. :) So sorry you had an unpleasant experience with your writings. I know a little how you feel ’cause I had the something similar happen to me years ago (way pre-xanga) and it affected my creative writing for a long time. Love you!! MLou 

  • Your pg picture is so cute. Your looking good for being 30 weeks. WOW!  I to am so glad you are continuing your posts. I missed you when you were gone. So sorry people in this world are out to hurt others. If they would only practice the golden rule! But what they dont realize is there showing there true colors, and it’s not one that would be a follower of Jesus! I ask myself often, is this how Jesus would talk or react.   What i enjoy most about your post is your creativity, your home is beautiful.  Can’t wait to see pictures of your wee little one. About the coupons, i never got into that much since i have all these great bent and dent stores just a few min. from me. Have a blessed week.

  • I Loved this post! You are looking great for 30 weeks! WOW!
    I don’t know what all happened – but I want to say I am so glad you are not shutting down! You inspire me and I love to see all your creative ideas. Thanks for sharing. You sounds like a wonderful momma!
    Have a wonderful day! Mj

  • So good to read your post, see your pics, and just be inspired once again (except I was sad to read the last part).  I told my mom once that you are way younger then me, but have so much that I admire and look up to!  You’re just one of the most beautiful maidens that I know – and I’m not talking about just what meets the eyes.  Somehow the prairie lady picture just adds to the beauty…. something rare and genuine… someone who is making a difference in our world!  I don’t know who accused you of that nasty stuff, but I’m guessing she’s probably insecure and envious of you and your beauty.  The devil loves to get ahold of something like that and wreck havoc in your life.  Keep on looking to the One who gives life - and beauty for ashes! love you… Carm

  • your writings connect with my heart and I’m sure its the same with many other women (see above) :) ….so sorry that happened!! keep sharing your life with us! love you!

  • You look completely a-ma-zing for being 30 weeks along! (Every pg woman besides myself seems to look so much better than me right now; sigh! from this stage on, I just feel massive..) I’ve been thinking of you the last while, and wondering how you are….imagining you being a prairie woman; that is so cute! Actually, I think your domestication that you write about is wonderful! I love when people find their ‘niche’ wherever life takes them, and you so seem to be doing that!
    Too bad about your negative experience with xanga…but thanks for keeping on with your posts; it’s always good to hear what is going on in the South, and I love the way you write, and speak from the heart….
    Take care and have a lovely day!

  • Want you to know that I love reading your xanga site and have never felt that you come across as judgemental at all!  Keep up the great work!

  • i’m allugot2him’s older sister…we’re 2 of 5 sisters, and no brothers. love those sisters!!! thanks for continuing to blog…I don’t very much, but you definitely inspire me, and I love to hear about the south! a part of my heart is there! welcome to coupons, too. i don’t enjoy shopping, but matching coupons & sales for things we use…that’s a totally different story. blessings to you!

  • Oh, I can identify with you…about being misinterpreted, that is. I hope you don’t stop writing, although I do know how much courage it takes after someone has misinterpreted something you posted. :( Good for you for posting again anyway! Don’t let it get you down…I’ve come to the conclusion that some people will find offense anywhere.

    Anyway, I always enjoy your posts. Thanks. :)

  • You don’t know me, but I know your sister Ervina and have stumbled across your site occassionally.  I’ve always thought your site interesting.  I hope you don’t let those ignorant (and I don’t mean ignorant in a nasty way but in a “they have no authority to judge” type way) people discourage you from being who God created you to be. 

    Oh, another connection.  My husband went to SMBI with your husband.

  • Hey Clarita!! It was so much fun seeing ya’ll last wk. You look so cute when your pregnant!! I just wish we knew what your having…… (: Oh my….I guess I’ll just have to wait like everyone else!!  And thanks again for having all the ladies over to your house!! You always make even the smallest get together seem so special! Keep up the writing!! You really have a gift!!! I always love reading your site, and have always wished I had your gift of journaling!! You are a beautiful lady inside and out, and I’m so glad God gave you as my SNL!!! Love you!! MJ

  • ditto to all of the above. :)

  • I’ve been stopping by periodically the last while and so enjoy your writing! I love the way you mix beautiful things and pictures with beautiful writing. It never fails that I come away feeling a bit better. :) Your cousin Krystal is one of my dearest friends, and the beautiful spirit I see in her I also sense in your writings. Please don’t quit! :)

  • I’ve definitely always enjoyed your posts…you are an inspiration! Please don’t stop writing!!

  • I don’t know you at all, but I came across your site thru someone else and I love how you express your heart.  It comes through that you have a passion for Christ and that is lovely.  Your daughter is adorable and I hope your pregnancy keeps going well. Blessings to you. ~ Cheryl

  • I am another one who ‘knows’ you only through xanga. I am originally from Montezuma and your bro.-in-law Rodney and I were in the same grade in school. :) Anyway, I just wanted to tell you that your site has been a great inspiration to me. Your mommy stories and your obvious closeness to our Father-God and your creative writing skills-it has enriched my life. Please keep writing. You have a talent for it and I believe you have been using it for His glory. Bless you. Lolita Hershberger

  • Hi Clarita!  I feel the need to encourage you also!  I have no idea what happened, it sounds very out of line!  But just to remember that when the world comes in contact with godliness, it will rub them the wrong way, and they will reject it.  Jesus was rejected, and we can expect to be also.  I know it is our human nature to want to be loved by everybody – and I’m guilty of the same thing.  But be encouraged!  You are a light to the world!  And I, a mother of 10, am so encouraged by your fresh look at motherhood, and the blessing of having children!!!  Keep your eyes on Jesus, and it doesn’t matter what Satan throws your way!!  :)

  • wow – don’t know you, but I totally enjoy reading your stuff. I’m sorry that people have judged you… that is unfortunate… I always enjoy your candid “realness” when you write – that’s what drew me to subscribe to you in the first place. So girl, don’t second guess yourself, your Creator created YOU!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *