February 5, 2009

  • Happiness. and Challenges.

    [in bullet style because words aren't coming too freely these days]

    Happiness is:

    -my parents stopping by for the night “on their way” to Charleston. Such a lovely time with them!

    -enjoying my new shelf [which I painted black, because Jana said to paint it black. And when sisters say, "Paint it black!" then there is no other way it looks right but to do as they say]

    IMG_5124

    -my sisters and two friends stopping in for the night…and day… on their way to Florida

    IMG_5143

    IMG_5137
    story time with Auntie Claudia… she’s going to strangle me for putting this picture on here, but I love it! I don’t know who is more engrossed in the book. :)

    IMG_5146
    my most wonderful guests! we didn’t want them to leave!

    -walks on crisp days with a dear friend, and hearing our babies “chatter” together in the double stroller!

    -finding that lasagna noodles fit in an Oval 5 Tupperware container

    -being pregnant with Little Treasure #2

    -snuggling on the couch with Husband after Baby is in bed at night

    -being pregnant at the same time as some dear friends of mine!! makes it ever so much more fun!

    -hearing my little daughter giggle. and she can giggle!

    IMG_5161
    we don’t walk anywhere. we RUN. and therefore, Pregnant Mommy sprints more than she cares to to Rescue Baby From Danger.

    -sleeping all night, now that Zoe’ has all 4 molars. we were up many times a night through that teething process…

    IMG_5171

    -friends that start dating…. I just love it!

    -phone calls and pictures from the Land of Snow

    -hosting company and doing things to make their time special

    -buying a slightly-used camera lense from Marylou! :)

    -a cousin that just had a baby! my first cousin ever to have a child… I’m so excited.

    -completing housecleaning in the month of January (my goal)

    -being all caught up in Zoe’s scrapbook album (also a January goal). I hadn’t worked on it for about a year, so had to go from when she was 4 months old to 18 months old. Rather overwhelming, but a wonderful feeling of accomplishment!

    -my planner. I absolutely love it. The second year in a row I bought the same one.

    IMG_5188
    It’s an X-large planner from Moleskin. Weekly spread on one side, notepad-style on the other. Perfect for all my lists [I'm a total list freak! and I love it that I don't have to write all my lists on a seperate paper, only to lose it halfway through the week - that's what happened to me before I got this planner, and then I'd be lost. My planner is my brain: I write it there and erase it from my mind], my menu for the week, for my days to be mapped out. Also has lined pages in the back for notes, and a pocket to hold my extras [note cards, church phone numbers, stuff I like to carry with me]. Perfect size to fit in my purse, nice and slim. There. You convinced I like it?? :)

    -hot coffee on a cold morning. Today I just wanted to crawl inside my mug to warm up…

    -reading other people’s blogs. Being blown away with how creative/inspiring/talented they are. Whether it’s in writing, domestic things, their heart for their families/other people…

    -quiet times with God before Zoe’ wakes up.

     

    Challenges are…

    -grocery shopping with $___ cash per week, and wondering if our set amount is possible with no bulk or discount stores for hours around.

    -doing a cash-only budget for particular categories

    -finding coupons for situations such as above

    -being happy with living in a Land Where There Is Never A Flurry [of Snow]

    -being content with One Season [Summer], plus January and February

    -sleeping in a 63* house at night and living in a 67* house during the day [part of the plan to converse on electricity. If it doesn't work, then by George, we're turning the heat up]

    -drying most of the laundry on racks outside vs. using the dryer [also part of the plan to save on the electric bill - learned from Linda! :) ]

    -learning what evening/weekend activities to cut out when Husband works from 6am-7pm each weekday, plus some Saturday side jobs. We’re so grateful he has work, but wondering how to stay connected??

    IMG_5173
    enjoying our days outside… the one nice thing about not living in a cold climate… Love that little drop of drool hanging off her chin! :)

    Oh, and just as a side note: all 102 chicks are doing just great. :)

     

Comments (20)

  • Chloe is delighted to see the new pictures of Zoe, and I’m delighted to read the post straight from your beautiful heart….God bless you in a special way today! …I was gonna ask about those chicks….our whole family read your “chick” post, and laughed and laughed….I think most of ‘em cheered for Ben!! I think chicks are in our future….. :)

  • so fun to read an update from you and see all your pictures. Zoe is adorable and growing up. wow! i’m having a hard time wrapping my mind around the idea that Brooklynn is turning one in less than a week. ALSO having a hard time believing that i’m having a baby in just EIGHT weeks. time goes so fast and it seems strange when we only see each other a few times a year and our babies are just growing up in between. but so thankful for xanga… we can keep up to date that way!

  • if wishes came true… i would move into your utterly charming house, and feast on your ridiculously gourmet but completely fattening italian dinners, and become a full-time nanny to your amazing daughter [and child-on-the-way], and serve you breakfast in bed every morning, and sit on the sunny back patio with you and smile and talk the day away… *wistful sigh* i really hate the fact that i’m not going to see you until after asia. i think i’ll go to my room and cry now…
    p.s. i love you!

  • Such a great little post….sitting down to recount blessings and things to be thankful for both big and small! I agree w/your happy-feeling when reading blogs… even if it’s just an update with a few pictures, I find those little glimpses into peoples lives to be both refreshing and inspirational! Yours included!!

    Have a lovely day down south…
    ~Rachel

  • Enjoyed your “one-liners”! It’s amazing how much you can say without saying much! I like the black shelf but the other way it was painted looked nice too. I hope your sisters agree on the color. WHAT would you do if they told you three different things???? :) Glad you like the lens!

  • well, marylou- three different choices isn’t even an option…seeing my opinion gets priority, being second in line! lol! =) ha, i love it chloe! the shelf looks great! & i’m so excited to see new pics of my little cookie-post more pictures…i miss her sooo much!! my word, claudia’s expression looks like a grandma–i didn’t know you bought a new lens!!–*that’s nice* that you included spring cleaning in your ‘happy list’, ‘cuz i definitely wouldn’t–and i’m still laughing about your agonizing state of moans & groans this morning in regards to snow!! ha ha…(i really am sorry) but that was just too funny to hear over the phone! =0…hope all those cinnamon rolls satiate your sad, crushed, & heart-broken state of being. perhaps holding one of those 102 chicks would do you great good, bringing a feathery sense of warmness & comfort to your heart. (grinz)

  • p.s. i liked the shelf better white. :)

  • I love reading your post’s as well. I was hoping for a update on the chicks. Upon reading your story myself and laughing till i was silly, i had to read it to my hubby when he came home. The kids laughed the entire time i was reading it. It was better then a story book. LOL!!!! so glad there doing great. Do you have a bid on the yet??? LOL   If we were closer i sure would love a dozen. Be blessed

  • haha.
    i do love this post. and you overestimate me because i could never even hurt you. bah.
    i had to look so dramatic because she hates me unless i use my ever dramatic skills. bah again,
    ;]

  • you’re writing and photos are so inspiring for this uninspired gal! i love your creativity, and trust me…it’s not normal…some of us are lacking! as far as saving $, have you heard of http://www.moneysavingmom.com ? she’s a list person, too, and has lots of tips on saving money…hope it helps you make those ends reach!

    ~eunice

  • I agree with the above comment! Moneysavingmom.com is my FAVORITE money saving site.  I do the whole “coupon thing” and LOVE it!  I have way more fun shopping than should be allowed!    About the planner.  I checked some of the planners out on Moleskin, which one do you recommend?

  • did you ever buy coupons on e-bay? my aunt told me about that one and i’ve been meaning to try it out but haven’t yet… and i’m glad you finally found a tupperware container that lasagna noodles fit in! :)

  • As par your challenge of husband working long hours – I can relate.  Matt works 6:30-7pm.  But the hours this winter are better than last winter.  Matt was working 6:00 to 8 or 9 pm every day, including some evenings until 11pm and part of Sat.  And I was pregnant and sick and going to school full time — result: we hardly saw each other!  I look back now and don’t know how we survived but we did!  Set date nights were very important and Sundays at home as well (we didn’t do anything social except spend the few free hours together).  For that season I pretty much lost track of other friendships, but I felt my marriage was most important. 

  • I wonder if being a list lady / using a planner is something that can be learned? I think life would be better if I did the lists and were more organized.   Oh well….

    Your chick story was the best!  I got a good chuckle out of that story! tee hee

    I was cooking pasta this week and thought about your question! Sorry, I didn’t mean to ignore ya.  I’m no pro, but I try to slather it good with olive oil (after I drain it) to keep it from sticking together.  Wonder what the pros do?

    Have a great weekend!!

  • your lists of happiness and challenges made me smile. That so sounds like something I would write out in my mind, but I have a harder time expressing my thoughts on paper…. I totally agree with you and the making lists/goals. I’m so that kind of person, but it helps me so much too. way to go on getting Zoe’s album all caught up. That is one of my goals this winter for Candace’s book, although I have to go back to when she was like a wk old until 27months now! =( not looking forward to it a whole lot. blessings on your day!

  • oh, i really like that organizer.  i am list girl too and often will write things and check them off because they got completed and SHOULD have been on the list!  i like to write my “list” and then put a little box beside each thing, then check it w/ a big red sharpie.  a page full of red check marks never felt so good!!!  i think i will check out your slim, little book for myself!

    stopped at my favorite coffee shack today and had a delightful conversation with nurse barkman, (well, almost)!!!!  i’m due may 2nd and found out your exact due date today as well.  spring babies, (well, perpetual summer baby for you)!  heavenly!!  new life as the earth brings forth new life! 

    hope you’re finding ways to enjoy today.  my, i don’t know what i’d do w/out my bulk stores!  you’re brave and doing well with what you have and THAT, my friend, is TRUE contentment! 

  • @dreamstillcometrue - Oh, WHAT to do when my sisters disagree about the shelf colors??? :)

    @tigergal01 - I don’t think I’ve been on that site, but thanks so much for the tip!! I will definitely try it out!

    @dannysgal05 - I just ordered my first  batch of 100 coupons on ebay. ;) And although I haven’t been shopping with them yet, they are really good coupons, I saw after they came in the mail. Now to just find a store that will double them. :)

    @rachi882 - I went on the moleskin website and got the X-large weekly planner. They have several different sizes in the weekly, but I like the x-large because there is plenty of room for my lists!! : ) If you wait to buy one until June/July, you can use it for a year and a half, since it comes with 18 months in it. It hasn’t worked for me to buy it in the middle of the summer, so I’ve just jumped in it in January. On the moleskin website it was fairly expensive (at least, I thought so: $25 with shipping) but I found one last year at a Books-A-Million that was discounted… Hope that helps you out!

  • @JakeandJanelle - I do the same thing with my lists – if I do something that wasn’t on the list, I write it down just to get the pleasure of immediately checking it off! :) Makes me feel silly sometimes, but I have no intention of stopping!

    I wasn’t sure when you’re due, but knew it’s sometime the beginning of May. So exciting to be pregnant and going to have a new little one! I hope you get your little girl. :)

  • 2 other great websites for coupons and money saving tips

    http://www.couponmom.com

    http://www.dealseekingmom.com

    Love these 2. hope they help. thanks for the tip on the planner. I, too, am a list person.

  • You did it! So glad your writer’s block cleared up for a little. :) Enjoyed your post, as usual. I smiled at the lasagna/Tupperware happiness; sounds like something that would be on my list, too. I like your planner. This year I’m using “The Time Keeper” and like it a lot. The set up looks pretty much the same as yours except the right side has rooms for menus/not as much room for the list. I do like that it’s spiral bound. And I identified w/ the money challenges. I have times when I like to see how well I can do w/ it; then other times I get so TIRED of needing to be so careful.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *