October 29, 2009

  • Zoe at Play.

     

    Because we are so far south, the weather is suitable for outdoor play almost year round.

    A few weeks ago we thought autumn had come. It was a bit cooler for a few days.  But alas, it didn’t last, and we’re back to hot and humid once again. Running the a/c just so we can sleep comfortably at night!

    And while I’d rather have cooler weather for a change, it really is nice for my little girl. She loves being outside, and if I let her, will be out for hours each day. She’ll play with her “titty-tats”, play in the sand in the driveway (“makin’ a pie!”), and all sorts of imaginative things.

    We have this little thing we say to each other when she goes outside. I’ll say (from Peter Rabbit), “You may go into the fields or down the lane…” and she’ll finish, “But not on the road or in the woods!” Sometimes she’ll tease me and say, “Not in Mr. McGregor’s garden!” :) She is an avid Peter Rabbit fan.

    I ran out with the camera one day when she was wide-open with her fun.  She was running so fast I didn’t have time to adjust the lighting on my camera, so it’s a little over-lit. But I still like it.

    IMG_9058

    I love these pictures of pure childhood. So innocent. Everything is right with the world. She has high expectations of people, of how loving everyone is to her, and most of the time her expectations are met. Life’s biggest disappointments are not playing with Roland or Blake when she wants to, or that it’s naptime instead of playtime. Wow. I want her to keep that innocence as long as possible.

    IMG_9065

     

    We gave her these two cats for her second birthday. She just adores them, and begs to go out and play. They are the sweetest cats – good thing, too, because she is still learning how to be gentle with them. See below.

    IMG_9084

    They can look strangled but they’ve never hurt her. Pretty amazing. I think I’d react if I were being strangled. If they get tired of her, they’ll run up a tree. :)

    These cats remain nameless, and we simply call them, “The Kitty Cats.” Or, as Zoe’ calls them, “da titty tats.” The did have names when we got them, but they were named after two kinds of beer, and we didn’t really want our just-turned-two-year-old running around saying beer names! :) Any good cat names out there?

    Good thing Zoe’ loves them so much, because they don’t get a lot of love from Ben or me. We’re just not big cat lovers – especially not when they try to run in the house every chance they get, or when they are accidentally left inside the house and make messes on beds, or when they walk all over clean cars and leave dirty footprints… But our little daughter adores them, so they stay. :)

    IMG_9076

    IMG_9081

    Childhood innocence.

    “… Unless you become as a little child, you will have no part in the Kingdom of Heaven.” – Jesus

    -clarita

Comments (10)

  • These pictures are just too adorable, and totally display the beautiful, innocent little girl that she is!!  Roland is sitting here with me exclaiming over them!(:

  • Ok. I’m really truly nearly almost crying. Such preciousness I have for a niece. HOWEVER is she growing up so fast? But I suppose if I’ve loved every stage so far, it’s only going to keep getting better, yes? It’s a good thing I’m seeing you people in two days because I couldn’t handle this separation much longer…

  • What an adorable little girl! I have a question. I think I read awhile back that you were working on potty training with her. Is she potty trained and how did you do it? I am trying to work with Jillian but I am not sure if I am making any progress. Any advice would be helpful.

  • love these pictures! so fun to capture those fun moments and real life! i really like when i can do that with my kids too! they go through each stage so fast and i’m so glad when i can look back at pictures and remember how things were. good job! loved this post.

  • oh oh!!! take me to the south right NOW!!! zoe is absolutely gorgeous, she’s growing up & changing her looks so fast!! i love the lighting on the first photo, and on the second one she looks like a straight-up model!! priceless little expressions…well, at least it’s still warm there, ‘cuz you’re getting some ghastly white, northern visitors in a few days! absolutely cannot wait to smother the little people and just BE with you guys again!! i just wish vacations could last forever…

  • Your Peter Rabbit sayings are too cute.  They brought back memories of when my boys were that age and we had a set of Beatrix Potter’s videos.  They watched them so often, I just about had them memorized.  As for cat names, I remember having two kittens named “Buttons and Bubbles” when I was a little girl.

  •   The pictures of Zoe remind me of Elena when she was that age.  She loved the cat that we got her, but now we are suffering the consequences, and have about 10 cats that come running when we open the door…As for names, I always let the kids name the kitties and that means we either have really odd unpronouncable names, or they name them after themselves.  As in “Mom, mom, Madelyn died” and i have a bolt of fear go through me until I realize it’s a kitty that died.

  • she is so adorable…and what a lot of fun she has had with those kitty cats! I think you wrote about that before, and I think it’s such a good gift for a little girlie…

  • The Peter Rabbit quote is so darling! Zoe is beautiful…and it looks as though she’s pretty gentle with them compared to what Zachary’s kitty had to endure. They must be tough creatures. His cats have always been named “Kitty.” Even if I name them something a little more exotic, then name remains the same. Let’s keep it basic, Folks.

  •  I am Martino, fulltime volunteer from Hongkong. May the peace and love of God be always with you. Jesus loves you immensely. Welcome to visit my HK Yahoo blog which is written in English, Italian and Chinese.http://hk.myblog.yahoo.com/cristo-cristo  
    msn:martinodigesu@hotmail.com

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *