October 30, 2009

  • My Daughters and Me.

     

    Claudia is here. And what a lovely, lovely time we are having with her! I think she could stay a month and we’d only like her more! Zoe asks for her every waking moment and is quite the imitator – I see her doing little “Claudia moves” and sayings. :) Maybe I’ll have a little bit of Claudia left here even after she’s gone!

    I had been wanting to do an informal photo shoot with my girls. I can’t remember doing one since Olivia is born, where it’s my girls and me. Yesterday late afternoon the backlight was just beautiful through the bamboo in the backyard. So we ran out and took a few pictures. Okay, a LOT of pictures. :) I thought I was only going to put one or two on here, but I couldn’t decide!

    IMG_2222

    I had picked up the dress that Olivia is wearing when Zoe’ was a baby, and wore it often on Zoe’. Months later, I found a bigger size for Zoe’ that she would wear at 2 years. Knowing I had matching dresses and was expecting again, I was hoping for a little girl to dress her up in them! Meanwhile, the shirt I was wearing was given to me by a sister who didn’t want it. *cough* So we’re matchy-matchy without really even trying.

    IMG_2237

    IMG_2229

    This is one of my favorites, with the bamboo leaves blurred in the foreground and the backlight in the background.

    IMG_2252

    IMG_2240

    My precious little daughters. I love having two girls! I would love to have four girls, like there are in my family. That scares Ben just a little. :)

    IMG_2243

    Names were a big deal to Ben and me when we were naming our children. Meanings of names, I should say.

    “Zoe’ Grace” means “Life of Grace.” Not physical life, but vivacious, exuberant, and bubbling-over life of the soul – which can be given only by God. I loved that. She was named that at a time in my life when I felt so much in need of that life. And God has been that to me through her. So beautiful.

    IMG_2245

    “Olivia Caroline” means “Messenger of Peace and Joy.” And she has been that to us! She arrived at a time when my heart was in the midst of many wrestlings, and she has truly brought peace and so much joy to us! I think it’s so beautiful how God has laid names and meanings on our hearts that speak destiny to our child, but that also speak of the blessing they are to us *right now*!

    IMG_2254

    Olivia and Zoe are both blonde-haired and blue-eyed, but they look so so different from each other! Olivia is growing up, but she is still our petite little baby!

    IMG_2258

     

    Tomorrow – we’re off to a family vacation! Excited doesn’t even begin to describe us right now. :)

    -clarita

     

     

Comments (9)

  • Four sisters can’t be beat! Great memories.

  • Seriously, SO CUTE. My favorites are the first and forth. And the one of Olivia pushing Zoe’s face away made me giggle. Such a sweet family of girls, I’m sure we could persuade Ben two more wouldn’t hurt anything. :) Oh and judging by these pictures, one would never dream that, just yesterday, Angelic Sister #1 poked a pen into the skin of Innocent Sister #2. :) I can’t wait to see all you lovelies tomorrow!

  • Adorable! We have 3 girls… and 2 boys, not scary at all. :P

  • Beautiful pics and adorable little girls! I have two girls, too and one boy. :)

  • They are so darling! love the pictures! I think it’s so neat when parents name kids based on their meanings or thing that really mean a lot to them.

  • Clarita…these are such precious pictures! I love the softness (again!;)) and the lighting…just perfect! I think my fave is the second to last one posted.Adorable! I can just *tell* that a sister is taking them for you…somehow they just know what we want, and how to go about getting it…and our children just cooperate for them! Glad you have had this time with her, and I hope your vaca is awesome with your family! :)
    happy first day of November!
    ~R

  • I love your site so I hope you don’t mind if I subscibe. Your little girls are so, so cute. Love the matching colors on you all!

  • How precious! #1 is my favorite!

  • Loved looking through your pics from this past week! So lovely!! :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *