November 26, 2008

  • How Many Blessings I Enjoy…

     

    I am so grateful for the gift of LIFE today!
            Physical life – the amazing gift of simply being alive…
                     Eternal life – the miraculous gift of knowing I will be with the Lord forever!

    I am so blessed!

    IMG_4715

    IMG_4631    IMG_4627    IMG_4632      

    IMG_4721

    IMG_4696   IMG_4703    IMG_4729

    IMG_4732

    [some pictures from a family night on the islands a few weeks ago, trying to take the family pictures (with a tripod, not a good idea!!) before I get too big and pregnant!]

    Yesterday was my birthday. 26th actually. Rather scary reaching these numbers that before I thought were only for the mature and old. Now I know a person can still feel very young at this age.

    There were several things on my heart and mind yesterday…

    • my sister, Jana. We were born on the same day, two years apart, so have always kidded that we’re kind of twins. :) As children growing up, we didn’t think it was very fun to share a birthday, much less a cake, a party, and sometimes what felt like presents ( I don’t think we actually ever did share presents though!). But now that we’re older, we just love this day together and think it’s so special that God planned it that way!

      Our parents did a wonderful job of celebrating us on our birthdays as kids. We felt like princesses for sure, and had royal treatment all day. Then there was the treasure hunt all though the house to find the presents, building such anticipation our little hearts would be beating wildly by the time we reached the “treasure.” And the squeals of excitement from younger siblings, namely Ervina (sorry darlin’, just had to add that for old-times’ sake! :) ) only added to the high emotion. I remember feeling it was the most wonderful day ever.

      And Jana and I were talking that even though we’re older, sometimes we still want that breathless excitement of younger days. Still want that Starbucks-in-bed as teenagers. That treasure hunt as kids. Want that feeling of wonder.


      But I am ever so grateful… Even though as a wife and a mommy it’s pretty much impossible to party all day as I used to. :) The baby is still teething, the floors are still dirty and need to be cleaned, the packing still needs to be done for the weekend… But it’s okay. Because perhaps now I’m at the place of giving back to God and others what I’ve received.

      But to continue the celebration of Jana…She is one of my very best friends, and I can’t imagine life without her. Ever the drama queen (well, which of my sisters isn’t?!), the tender one that always sticks up for the under-dog, the one who was traveled to many countries with me and who has made many Spanish bloopers with me in Guatemala, the one whose beauty and talents will one day make a man feel like a king… I love her dearly!

     

    IMG_4636 IMG_4652 IMG_4647

    • Sadness is thinking of the passing of my cousin, so sudden and so tragic. He was always so fun to be around, and family gatherings were better when he was there. I still find myself thinking that he’ll be around for the next Christmas dinner…

      Yet that very sadness also drives me to live life to the fullest while I’m yet living. It makes me realize my own life could be so short, so quickly cut off, and I desire to live, fully and truly. To love passionately, to not hold grudges or bitterness toward anyone. To live with a heart wide open, trusting God to care for me in the times of misunderstandings and pain inflicted from others…

     

    IMG_4675

    IMG_4666

    IMG_4654

    • Gratitude for the blessing of Zoe’, and also for my unborn baby. We had quite a scare this past week… I went in to the doctor for a prenatal exam at 16 weeks, and there was no heartbeat to be found. 10-15 minutes of trying with two different dopplers, but no heartbeat. The nurse also commented that I didn’t look like I was 4 months pregnant. The reasons they gave me for not finding one scared me. Perhaps the baby wasn’t as far along as I thought, they said, and is too small to find a heartbeat. If I was pregnant, and I was, then I knew how far along I was. Maybe off by a day or two, but not by weeks or a month. I was scheduled for an ultrasound the next day.

      (And I do have to throw this in here: I was still in the doctor’s office after not being able to find a heartbeat and feeling very scared and sad, when one of the nurses came up and asked how Zoe’ is doing. Sweet lady, but her next question made me quite upset. “Is this baby planned?” she then asked of my current pregnancy, oblivious to the fact that I didn’t know whether the baby was dead or alive. I looked up in amazement. Basically she was saying she felt sorry for me that my two babies will be 21 months apart and we surely couldn’t have wanted it that way. I told her that yes, this baby was planned. And I didn’t go on to say this, but even if it hadn’t been planned by my husband and I, it would have been planned by the Lord, and that is planned enough. And I say to everyone out there: never ask anyone that offensive question!)

      The next 24 hours were a difficult time. Tears, praying, and surrendering to the Lord our desires for a family, our desire for this child in particular. I know I will be a busy mother when this little one arrives, but I was so excited about how close they would be. And even though going from one child to two seems like a huge difference, feels like we’re going from a newly-married-couple-with-a-cute-baby to a real live family, we are just loving where we are at in life right now and looking forward to being a real live family. It was a hard time, a sleepless night, but a good time as well. We came to a place of peace with whatever the Lord decided to do, told Him we will still trust Him and believe His goodness even if He chooses to take this baby, but we also realized how much we wanted this Little Love!

      Ben and I went into the ultrasound together, and the technician started the machine. “Well, there’s the baby, and…. there’s the heartbeat!” she said. “The heartbeat??” we asked in disbelief! She must have wondered at our surprise, so we told her we didn’t think things were okay with the baby because there was no heartbeat found the day before, etc. We were amazed! The baby is perfectly fine, measuring exactly where I thought it was. Why there was no heartbeat the previous day, I have no idea. There was no reason found or given. 

      So we are some very grateful souls! The Lord gives, and the Lord takes away, and either way He is Good. This time He has chosen to give, and we are so grateful!

    IMG_4667

    More could be written from this full heart of mine, but we must save some for later.

    To all – a Happy Thanksgiving, and wonderful weekend!


     

Comments (27)

  • Enjoyed your post and all the good pictures!  I totally agree with you about questioning someone’s pregnancy.  Our boys are 17.5 months apart and we made out perfectly fine with two toddlers. 

    As far as youth, let’s just go ahead and plan volley-ball for Sat. Dec. 6.  Does someone need to call and reserve the gym?  The scavenger hunt can wait until January.  If we do a big Christmas bash, it will probably have to be done on a Saturday as well.  The school Christmas program is sheduled for Fri, Dec. 19. 

  • A wonderful Thanksgiving to you too! So glad that things last week turned out the way they did. That WAS quite a scare. And ditto about babies being “planned”. If God planned it… well then that’s enough for me!:)

  • Happy birthday! I love those family pics. That last one is just perfect.

  • praise GOD your baby is ok!!

    what a beautiful post. :) the family pictures are all beautiful– how could you pick just one? unfortunately, i have to take our fam pics this year, looking “pretty” pregnant. oh well, i`m thankful…

  • *sigh* i sip my starbucks breakfast blend and smile in absolute happiness over your oh-so-lovely pictures (may i do your christmas cards?) and poetry of reflective words (but how dare you insert my elementary annoyances in there!)… have i mentioned lately how much i absolutely adore you and your little family?

  • aw, i had tears in my eyes by the end of your story. I’m so glad everything was OK! I have had several friends loose their babies, most of them due around the same time as me, and one just this weekend @ 30 weeks–makes me never ever want to take this precious gift of life for granted. Babies are miracles in so many ways. Good reminder about asking the “planned” question. I know I have been guilty of doing that already!

  • Your pictures (and your thoughts) are so beautiful! The last picture is my favorite. You are so blessed to have a live unborn child. Four years ago I had a very similiar experience, only my baby was dead. Have a nice Thanksgiving!

  • @baileyandme - you’re right about being thankful… after my baby scare, I thought I wouldn’t care if I took family pictures looking pregnant and very overweight, as long as I had the baby! :)

  • @Yoderfamilyof5 -  we’ll try to reserve the gym for Saturday night and will let you know if it doesn’t work out. Thanks so much for everything!

    @letshavechai - I’m so sorry about your baby! For those 24 hours I thought my baby was gone, and so in a very small way can feel with someone else… It’s amazing how much you can love a child you’ve never even met!

  • Beautiful pictures, beautiful family.
    I’m so glad your baby’s ok.
    It was good to talk to you for a few minutes at Claudia’s play.
    I wish we could get together sometime and really talk…for much longer.
    Love you, Marylou

  • Wow, that was quite the scare!! So thankful with you that everything is ok.

    Happy birthday. I thought about it yesterday that it was your and Jana’s birthday. I always remember that because my two oldest were also born on that day. :)

  • great post! i didnt realize that yall are expecting again! congratulations! hope things go well for you!

  • So grateful that the little miracle of life is fine and dandy.  Cute family pictures.

  • Goodness what to comment on first…Happy Birthday, a day late! Such a special thing you and Jana share…PTL for your little life inside the womb! I was feeling teary-eyed as I read about your ordeal. That is such a scary thing! It’s so neat that you can come away from it and recognize God’s GREATNESS…and the family pics are all so darling! Have a very Happy Thanksgiving!!

  • i’m so glad everything’s ok! that would’ve been so sad! your pictures are beautiful!

  • Thank You, Jesus, the baby’s fine! darling family…..lovely post!……why do you always make me cry??:)you’re a wonderful writer!see you soon!!??

  • That was a beautiful post and the pictures are awesome! 

  • Happy Birthday! I didn’t realize we are so close in age. I’ll be 26 next month. Also, I can’t imagine being all excited about your little baby and then having a scare like that! Praise God everything is ok!  Have a fun Thanksgiving.

  • praise the Lord!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • That was absolutely beautiful.  Everything you had to say and the pictures. 

    Congratulations on your beautiful daughter and your pregnancy!  May the Lord bless all of you!

  • Beautiful post. (As said by so many people before me.)

  • What’s wrong with using a tripod for family pictures?? They look quite lovely to me!! I liked your post and pictures tremendously (maybe I need *your* lens ) . . . so glad everything’s OK with baby . . . and hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving Day.

  • Happy birthday…days late. I didn’t realize we were the same age. for some reason, having 3 kids, i feel a little out of the “newly married” stage most days. And yes, God’s planning is more perfect than ours could ever be. (even tho sometimes we doubt) Victoria and Landon are only 15 mos. apart, but they are best buds and do wonders at entertaining each other. And you gotta love siblings that are close…this time of the year my bro., sister and I sound a little too close. It’s like 26, 25, and 24. Some days I have sympathy pangs for my mother. :)

  • Congrats!  I didn’t know you were expecting your second miracle!!  PTL that everything is okay…  I can only imagine how awful that was, thinking your precious was gone! 

    “…newly-married-couple-with-a-cute-baby to a real live family”  Ha, I guess we are a “real live family” now.  What a GIFT!!!  Yes, there are adjustments…but it’s all so worth it!! Remember the worries we had before the first one was born? and then we look back and wonder why we worried – cuz it’s sooooo incredibly sweet!!  So it is with the second one…..  A BEAUTIFUL LIFE!

    Your post is precious – challenging – refreshing!! 

    Hoping to get to see you when you are in HC!! =)

  • i was just catchin up on your blog…congrats on the pregnancy…our first two daughters/children are 21 months apart…not planned by us but by the God, and He know what He was doing way better than we did…it has been so much fun for us and them…we would prob not do it differently.  dont get me wrong, at the time when i had two “babies” it felt hard, but looking back I am like, that wasn’t hard at all!!  =)  they are best friends (and enemies, sometimes) and just really grew up together kinda like twins…it’s awesome and i am so happy for you!

  • i wish i could have commented first .because alas, sisters should always be among the first.
    but it’s lovely. and i cannot stop gazing at the lovely white angels in the pictures (meaning you of course)
    so dad’s here this morning and bragging about how zoe’ only goes to him and how she reaches for him even with his orange cap and hunting suit.
    ervina and i just glared at him as he handed us our coffee. i think we both wish we had skipped everything and gone out to ohio too.
    love you dearest.

  • just want you to know i miss you…..

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *