Month: October 2005

  • Taking evening classes at Lancaster Bible College is one of God’s beautiful gifts to me right now. The professor is an older man, been to Moody Bible In stitue, has been a pastor for 56 years. He has a wealth of knowledge, wisdom, and passion inside of him – what a privilege to sit under him!


    Stirred my thinking to Jesus


    How He left heaven – glory, majesty, the worship of angels, being Almighty – and came to earth where He completely gave up His reputation. Then, instead of trying to make a name for Himself and prove to humanity that He was God, He became a servant. A servant. The lowest rank possible. When He washed the disciples feet He didn’t just wipe dust off, He had to scrub off the animal dropping from walking on the road. He even allowed mankind to kill Him. Kill GOD! So against human logic. Mankind wouldn’t be so foolish. Yet Jesus was willing. It was because He was thinking of eternity, not just the present. This is my Jesus. This is my example.


    How often I try to prove something.  Jesus was GOD, yet was secure in His God-ness and didn’t have to prove anything. What is my area of “no reputation” Jesus is asking of me? Spoke to my heart so deeply that because God knows me, I don’t have to try to validate myself.


    I so want to be like my Jesus…


     


     

  • IN ONE YEAR…


    …My grandpa died, who was like a 2nd dad to me


    …I got married


    My dear aunt died


    …My sister Jana is leaving for a year in Colorado


    There are so many changes that have taken place in my personal life within the past year… Sometimes I can hardly believe it’s reality. Sometimes the pain in them almost overwhelms me, some of the changes have been extremely painful. Death was never so real to me as it has been in the past year. God is my Comforter, but there is still an ache in my heart… I have been so homesick for heaven, it doesn’t feel like home here anymore. Relationships have come to mean more to me than anything else in the whole world. Jesus has become more dear to me than ever before, even though I can’t understand all of His ways.


    “…When I am overwhelmed, lead me to the Rock that is higher than I am…”