June 18, 2008

  • Outer Banks, NC

     

    Okay, pictures are uploaded (over the period of a week), the baby is in bed, and husband is gone for the evening. So I shall try to update a bit… Trust me, when all you have is dial-up internet access, you think twice, sometimes more than that, about doing a picture update. Every picture is a labor of love, folks!! We hear news that DSL is going to come out of town the needed 8 miles to reach our house, so hopefully that will be in the near future… Until then, here are some of the pictures from our GLORIOUS family vacation!! Spending a week with these fine people was simply wonderful..

    We rented a house within walking distance of the beach, so as you can imagine, we were highly entertained by each other and the nearby ocean each day! There was not a chance for boredom, even though we stayed right at the house/ocean most of the time. This was our 2nd vacation there, and hopefully there will be many more to come!

    When Ervina and Claudia were at our house the week before OBX, Ervina had the brilliant idea of making chocolate croissants. She saw the idea in a LIVING magazine, and we enjoyed our little French breakfast of croissants and coffee each morning on the back patio!

    IMG_2490

    IMG_2491

    Most of us spent at least a few hours making sand castles or building “people” in the sand. James is an artist and actually made a man that looked like George Washington! It was the coolest thing, and no, I am not just prejudiced to my brother, because other beach-goers would go by and exclaim about G. Washington!

    IMG_2540

    Now does he or does he not look like G. Washington??

    IMG_2684

    Mr. Muscle Man Sir David with Large Stomach

    IMG_2655

    Equipped with an umbrella and an inflatable kiddie pool, Zoe’ was as happy as a lark all week. Of course, she had no other option. She was surrounded by doting uncles, aunts, and grandparents who picked her up the instant she squeaked.  How could she NOT be happy? :)

    IMG_2576

    IMG_2595

    Pointing is the big deal… She’s been pointing for a while, but now pointing is REALLY a big deal.

    IMG_2588

    This is what we’ll send out for our family pictures this Christmas. :) JK Amazing how you can photoshop the sky to look so much bluer than it really was…

    IMG_2672

    IMG_2774

    Growing up in a family of 6 was one of the greatest gifts I’ve ever been given! I love my big family!!

    IMG_2785

    IMG_3102

    The Sisterhood Complete

    IMG_2793

    The Handsome Brothers

    IMG_2844

    Love her expression here

    IMG_3011

    Daddy and His Girls (see Ervina’s site for the same picture 5 years ago!) (aha! I finally figured out how to do a link!)

    IMG_3022

    Never too big to be Daddy’s Girl!

    IMG_3109

    Marmie and Her Girls

    IMG_3076

    A few of our little family…

    IMG_3054

    IMG_3090

    IMG_3064

    Daddy’s Toes and Zoe’s Toes

    IMG_3017

    And some of the whole big family. This was a not-so-good night to take pictures – with lighting, moods and all!! But here we are, a big smiling family. You would never know that we had the camera on a tripod and I had to frantically rush from camera to family to holding baby to smiling in a few seconds flat. I wouldn’t recommend it. Actually, I’d recommend letting your single sister do it, who is good at photography, has no child to settle in arms within seconds, and can probably run faster than you. I had a little pride issue to repent of. :)

    IMG_2918

    IMG_2936

    IMG_3105

    And that concludes the brief summary of our wonderful vacation!

    Cheers to my wonderful family!!

    I am so blessed to have a tremendously rich heritage. My parents are such a role model for me, in their relationships with God, and in their parenting, just who they are. And I adore my brothers and sisters. No, we are not perfect by a long shot, a week together showed that up! But we love each other dearly, and I truly am blessed!

Comments (9)

  • You have a beautiful, fun-looking family!  So glad you got to go….it’s good to have you back though!!

  • just amazing– so many cool shots… how would you ever frame/scrapbook them all? i love you and you sister`s tastes. very cool. :)

  • Clarita, I thoroughly enjoyed the post, so thank you for taking time and patience to upload all those pictures.  They are wonderful!  It gives me a good feeling just to see you guys having so much fun together. :)   I love watching families who are so close…especially seeing that special relationship between girls and their dad.  It’s something I didn’t have and it really amazes me.  I hope that we have little girls so I can see that between them and Steve.  Yeah, I see GW in he sand. :)   And I so know that self-timer…run…quickly smile routine.  Makes you feel a little fake.  :)

  • if you would only *know* how long i’ve been waiting for this post!! and if you would only know how many times i’ve been planning to call you in the past week . . . but *something* always came up to keep me from it. oh well, maybe today will be the day. but in the meantime, thanks for the pictures!

  • That looks like so much fun. Your family inspires me. I love the closeness and the bonds you share. I want that for my family someday. Thanks for the post!

  • Always love looking at all your pictures!  Now it’s making me want to be at the beach!  Hope you’re doing well and that you have a wonderful day!

  • looks like an awesome vacation!! love the pics!!

  • Looks like you had just a wonderful family vacation. I have never been to OBX but my sister has, an we hope to maybe go this year. I really loved all the pictures you posted, they are so good. My favorite is of you all jumping over that sand hill. looks so cool.  Your parents are so neat, just the little we were with them. Glad you had fun.

  • wow, looks like a wonderful vacation!!! thanks for sharing all your pictures too. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *