Month: February 2007

  •  

    Life Snippets…

    -Many, many cups of hot tea… Peppermint tea, darjeeling tea, camomile tea, spearmint tea… Oh, happy day when I can have hot coffee again!

    -My husband just came off a 10-day diet. His reaction to “normal” food again is quite humorous. It’s a good thing I didn’t realize when we got married just how much he enjoys eating or I would have been a very intimidated new cook.

    -Continual aggivation with our inherited cat. Too bad I don’t like cats because this would be a perfect feline – it even came free with our rental property. Rubbbing its tail on my legs, sitting on my newly-washed car, meowing us a song outside the door every night at supper, staring in at me in the living room from the back porch railing (very creepy, I must say. Gives you that same feeling as when you can feel a person is looking at you). The worst is when it tries to sneak in the house undetected, then scares the daylights out of me when it runs for the door when it sees me coming. Or the day it happened to be locked in our laundry room off the garage. I was greatly irritated to find it in there in the first place, but horrified when I saw it had been laying on my nicely folded, clean laundry. I still threaten I’ll take a shotgun to it one of these days.

    -Cod liver oil pills, which are supposedly good for pregnant women, make the worst after-burps you could ever imagine. I think from now on I’ll get my nutrition elsewhere.

    -We’re buying some land here in Jesup. My husband acts like a little boy, he’s so excited. :) I really like the land too – quiet road (yeah, I’ve resigned myself that I’ll probably never live in the city again), a small lake opposite the property, a creek along the backside. It even has a bit of a slope, quite amazing for Jesup, which is known for its flatland and pinetrees. We’re thinking we might build there… eventually. And did I mention the name is Lincoln Drive? Almost funny to me, because only about 5 houses are on that sophisticated-sounding road. But I knew I didn’t want to live on Fanny Head Road, or Hymen Poppel Loop, or some other properties we were looking at. Can’t believe some of the road names people come up with.

    -I’m in a wintery mood and want some good books to read. Any suggestions?

    -It’s snowing and snowing back at home *droopy lower lip*. How I wish I could be there for a good old-fashioned snowstorm. But I sit in my house, curled up in a blanket, a pine candle burning, and pretend the rain outside is snow. If only pretending could come true like it does in fairy tales.

    -Lunch with a couple of ladies from Jesup on Thursday! I felt like a little kid, I was so excited. Because of teaching school full-time, I’ve been so tied down and haven’t been able to get out very much. This was the first time in the 6 months since we’ve lived here that I went out to lunch. And it was wonderful…

    -I’ve had more energy the past 2 weeks than I have in 4 months before that. Cleaning out closets, cupboards, organizing stuff until even my husband would just shake his head and laugh at me. I freaked myself out though, when I suddenly remembered what some old gossips say at funerals, “Do you think she knew she was going to die? I mean, the last few weeks she was getting her house in such order, I’m just sure she had a premonition!” Then they cluck their tongues mournfully. I stopped in my tracks when I thought of that and haven’t cleaned out a cupboard since. And just for the record, I don’t have a pre-death premonition – I prefer to call it “Nesting Instinct.” Makes me feel better.

    -Xanga is a quite fascinating world these days. So many of my friends are pregnant and having babies. So fun! I love their excitement over being new moms and loving on their new little Muffin or Cupcake. But I love it too, when they are real and tell me that it’s an adjustment and it changes their world. Helps me better prepare, because that’s reality.

    If you made it all the way to the end, congratulations! I’m home most of the day by myself, guess this is my social time for the day. :) (That’s bad, when xanga is my social life). Hence the long-winded post.

    Tootles, Cheers, and Happy Winter Wishes!