April 20, 2012

  • ~ Nesting ~

     

    A strange phenomenon has hit me the past few weeks.

    Nesting.

    This isn’t the chicken-on-the-egg kind of nesting. Oh no.
    This is the song-bird-flitting-around-nest-building-a-home.
    Think robin, bluebird, chickadee.

    One would think that perhaps nesting would be limited to the birds.
    But perhaps the instinct is given to far more mothers preparing to give birth?

    It’s the preparation of a Nest for a wee little one who doesn’t care for the world how clean the house is,
    or if he has a drawer or a box or a cradle to sleep in.
    The little one has no idea if the house was newly-housecleaned, or if it has been years since a good cleaning.

    However, the mama knows, and she wants her Nest ready and perfect for the precious little arrival.
    You’d think a good weekly cleaning would suffice.

    But oh no.
    This Nesting  is of a different sort.
    Very strange things happen within the mother.
    There are outrageous bursts of energy, even as she carries a basketball-size tummy everywhere she goes.
    Her eyes take on new lenses, and see things that need to be cleaned that she never even noticed before,
    and that MUST BE SCRUBBED & CLEANED & SANITIZED. NOW.

    She climbs atop of piano and balances on tall headbands, trying to reach that last little inch of window trim.
    She tries to step down safely, and most times does, but sometimes the bench falls out from under her.
    But she’s okay.
    She’s nesting.

    She uses toothbrushes and bleach and cleans dirty corners that were never there before.
    She could write a tutorial on how to make rabbits from dust bunnies found underneath the master bed on the hardwood floor.

    She hands rags and cleaning supplies to the other a-bit-bigger-birdies in the home and they crawl under beds and in places where basketball-belly-mother cannot go, and they think nesting is fun too.

    It’s a very curious phenomenon.

    She could write articles about deep cleaning and how to sanitize every inch of your home and not miss a single dirty corner as she’s Nesting. But she knows that within a month of the arrival of Wee Birdie she would look back at the article and laugh, because this is most definitely not normal, and quite clearly a perk of pregnancy. And she enjoys the season of nesting and house-sanitizing because it is a season, and feels quite sorry for those folks who live with these cleaning-lenses all the time.

    And the clock ticks, and this nesting is a race against time.

    But she takes time for naps if she’s tired,
    and trips to the park with the other little birdies.
    And crosses things on her list of to-do’s for the Nest.
    And prays to live these last days with Grace.
    Not tenseness,
    not being grouchy about being uncomfortable,
    not being irritable if she goes overdue, as she has with the other two birdies.
    But with Sweet Grace.

    {Nesting} 293{Nesting} 296

    {Nesting} 302{Nesting} 298

    {Nesting} 253

    {Nesting} 283

    {Nesting} 249{Nesting} 248{Nesting} 246

    {Nesting} 244

    [spring mantel inspired by The Lettered Cottage]

    For real, this Nesting thing is amazing even to me.
    How I can be at the very end and have the bodily shape I do and feel the uncontrollable urge to purge and clean and organize and sanitize…

    I must look quite large at this point,
    and feel very conspicuous going out in public, even to Walmart.
    This was confirmed the other day when I was in [ha, the cleaning aisle of] Walmart,
    and a complete stranger [older male] passed me and said,
    “Hey! Didn’t anyone tell you not to swallow that watermelon seed? Ha ha ha!”
    Wow, Sir. Someone sure missed the tact end of things in your child-training.
    I smiled and nodded politely.
    He thought it was a great joke.
    It only confirmed my feeling that I should not be out in public.

    Zoe is wild with excitement about a new little baby.
    Giving her the gift of siblings is ever so special to me.
    I’m so grateful to God for giving us that gift!
    She’s constantly saying, “I’m so excited about our baby coming I just can’t wait!!!”

    [my new screen door off the kitchen, bought with money saved from My Faire Lady. love love ♥]

    {Nesting} 445

    [Ballard Design Company, I love your style. And your coupon/discount email.]

    {Nesting} 446

    Ben and I were talking baby names the other night.
    I had ideas picked out last September already, but apparently we haven’t discussed as much as I thought.
    Two weeks before baby is due Ben says,
    “I remember the boy name we’re talking about, but, what’s the girl name?”
    Um, Husband! Am I really lacking in communication that badly?

    Zoe has her own ideas of baby names.
    Very excitedly one day,
    “I know what we can name our baby!!
    If it’s a boy we can call him ‘Jack’ like ‘Jack and Jill went up the hill’!
    And if it’s a girl we can call her ‘Rose’ because no one else would think of that name!”

    So it’s been baby Jack and baby Rose ever since then. I think Jack is really cute actually. :)

    [front porch in lovely spring time]

    {Nesting} 440

    {Nesting} 431

    [confederate jasmine in all the sweet blooming glory]

    {Nesting} 430 {Nesting} 427

    And it’s really amazing to me, but somehow my physical appearance and baby-belly is so lovely to Zoe.
    “We should always tell pregnant mommies that they’re sooo beautiful!” she said once,
    and she compliments often on how pretty she thinks I am.
    I asked Ben if he put her up to that :) and he said no.
    I was surprised, and her compliments mean all the more.

    Olivia, on the other hand, says things as they really are:
    “You have a weally big belly, Mommy!!”
    :)

    The excitement of meeting our new little one is sky-high.
    The other two children it was just Ben and I that were excited.
    This time it’s Ben and me plus two very excited sisters!
    The suspense of not knowing the gender only adds to the excitement.

    Zoe is declaring she wants eight children of her own,
    and that she wants five brothers and five sisters. :)

    I actually get butterflies thinking about meeting this precious little baby,
    and finding out what it is!

    Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice?
    A trio of little girlie sweetness? Yes, please!

    {Nesting} 276{Nesting} 275

    Or Snakes & Snails & Puppy-Dog Tails?
    A little man in the house? Yes, please!

    {Nesting} 271{Nesting} 273

    Either one would not be a disappointment.
    God knows the perfect family arrangement for us.
    It’s not like any other family in the world ~ it’s unique to us.
    And we can’t wait to find out!

    It’s FOUR DAYS until my due date.
    Tuesday, April 24th.
    Which, so beautifully, is the very day that Ben and I started dating, in 2004!
    No, we didn’t plan this. :)

    But my record is to go late, soooo I’m planning a beach day in celebration of my due date. :)
    Just to make things enjoyable and not focus on the date itself.
    My theory is, with a record of 11 days late and 8 days late respectively,
    that if I do enjoyable things before and after my due date,
    I don’t notice the discomfort of late-term pregnancy as keenly.
    And it makes me look forward to the days ahead, rather than dread them.
    However, I do hope very much I don’t go the full two weeks overdue that my midwives allow…

    But Sweet Baby Love, if you do decide to come early, or on time, or late,
    know that we are so ready for you, and so excited to meet you.

    And there is a sweet little antique cradle waiting for you right beside our bed…

    {Nesting} 449

    …with dear little organic bedding from Pottery Barn, found on clearance for a song…

    {Nesting} 262{Nesting} 447

    …where you can be rocked by eager little sisters…

    {Nesting} 454

    …and where you’ll sleep, when you’re not being held and cuddled and kissed upon…

    {Nesting} 457

     Dear Lovie, you are already so loved.

    ~ clarita

Comments (42)

  • So exciting! Hope everything goes well for you!  I have the urge to get everything ready, but for some reason that doesn’t include cleaning my house. *roll eyes* Maybe that’ll come yet. :)

  • I LOVED everything about this post. So very, very sweet.
    I am so excited for you to have your new little baby!!! Your girls are so cute. I always love when siblings are happy for a new “Jack or Rose.” ;)

    The nesting…I wish you could pass along your pregnancy energy! With each one of my babies, the night before I always did major cleaning. I was always so thankful too. I would have hated to come home to a mess with a brand new baby. God really helps us moms out that way….giving us that extra little burst right before to get all we need accomplished.

    Your house is adorable, absolutely adorable! Like a pinterest page. The cradle is so sweet. The bedding, love it. You should pin some of your pictures…{if you haven’t already!}

    Well, I will be praying the evening of the 24th for baby to come..that way you can get in your beach day. ;)
    Have a Great weekend Clarita. xoxoxo

  • Dear Lovie, you are already so loved…….I can so relate to that. So sweet.

    Prayers for a safe delivery and healthy baby.

  • sooo charming!! be back when i can look longer..

  • I can so relate to the nesting urge:) Moving washer and dryer just to get that last nook cleaned, and if other older ladies discovered what I’d done,they’d look at me in horror and I’d think,” You mean I’m the only one who does this:)” I’m now 5 weeks from due and we still haven’t found a place to move to(we need to be out a week after baby is due,and I have a habit of going anywhere from 5-8 days late) I can’t let myself think about it or I get very discouraged! I would like to be settling in, NOT tearing everything apart! 

     I also can relate to feeling it almost a disgrace to show myself in public. The pitying looks from complete strangers, the comments,”You mean you STILL haven’t had that baby”(No I actually have several weeks to go yet!) Right now, we’re in Missouri hangin out w Michael’s family..his dad is not well…and it is a relief to be in an area where noone knows me:) and we’ve not been to church,just being w Dad’s Sunday mornings.

      Praying that everything goes well for you,and you make it to the hospital in time:)))

  • Reading this takes me back to a time when I had two girls with the third on the way.  We didn’t know the gender either.  We had picked out a girl name but never agreed on a boy name.  On the way to the hospital, I asked my husband what in the world would we name this baby if it was a boy?  His reply, “Let’s just hope it’s a girl.”  And she was a girl.  Emrie Rose.  (Our two boys came along after her.)  Prayers for you in the coming days!  Hoping for sooner rather than later.  Can’t wait to meet your little one.  :)  

  • I love how your two girls are so excited about your little one coming. What special memories! I never got that “nesting” feeling. I actually thought about it and wondered where it was at :) I think the house was still relatively clean when we brought our child home :)

    I thought about you last night and said a prayer for you, so I’m glad to hear things are still going well for you. Bless you for choosing grace in your last weeks of (uncomfortable) pregnancy!

  • you know what is a real worry of mine? if zoe is, in fact, my last baby; when will my house get deep cleaned??? for the last 6 years, it has happened in the few weeks before sweet baby was born. if i don’t have that nesting urge…when WILL i actually do it? ha

    my heart melted into a big puddle over this post. it is just the most precious thing to read of your love for jack or rose. :) i am excitedly awaiting baby’s arrival from thousands of miles away!

  • oh my…I can so relate to your “nesting!” I always thought my house had to be spotless, too! I don’t hate cleaning, but I’m not a “spring or fall” cleanster!
    I love your screen door! My windows & doors have to be open =)
    Hoping all goes well w/ your babies arrival!

  • So excited for all of you! What a wonder to hear of the soon arrival. Nesting…I think us more mature Ladies need somethin to put the power under us But, oh my goodnesss, up on the piano?! LOL
    I agree with Zoe, I think pregnant mommies are so beautiful, though I remember feeling like a small house. Single guys at church seemed to be the ones with no tact, telling me I was HUGE. You probably made that older gentleman’s day.
    Your cottage is darling, and all the little nests and references to birdies so sweet! Praying for grace and God’s perfect timing for you and baby dear ( mine always went long too)

  • @miller_79 - Moving washer and dryer?? Hmmm, now that hasn’t crossed my mind before. Now I won’t be still until it’s finished. :)
    And blessings to you as you wait as well! Those last weeks are just not the easiest…

  • What an exciting time! I wish I would be nesting even though I’m not preggo…this house could use a “nesting” cleaning:) Bless you for taking time to enjoy park time with your girls and allowing them to help clean. I really need to work on that area….taking more time for my children. Adorable little baby clothing…best wishes!

  • so fun to read thru this post! the nesting thing….yep. been there, done that with each of mine too. and yet, i keep telling myself to get things done now while it’s easier….but, i have this feeling that i’ll STILL kick it into high gear at the end, just because i do! =)
    the jasmine is soo pretty! and the porch! can’t wait to get my ferns out on ours…your place just looks great, inside and out!
    all the little baby touches are so darling…..i’m on the lookout for a bed such as that, and am kind of kicking myself i didn’t get the one i saw a couple weeks ago. but, i’ve got time, so i’m hopeful. and, what you said about the girls being so excited; i soo relate to that this time around much! more than the last time. it’s so fun to have older children with a new one coming…i could *almost* see myself doing this again. ;)
    a happy weekend to you and if you must make it to the beach, i hope it’s a wonderful time!!!

  • oh, i always loveLOVE seeing inside your cozy cottage~ it belongs in a copy of Cottages and Bungalow’s!!! your style and knack for putting just the right little something somewhere is aMaZinG!! i chuckled at your opening paragraph about “this isn’t the chicken on the egg kind of nesting..” hahaha.. though you DO have a precious sweet egg about to hatch!!! :) and i found my own heart flip a little as you said FOUR days away. oh, all those emotions came flooding in. the nerves and excitement, the bit of anxiousness. just wanting it all over and that tiny life on THIS side of you, and in your arms!! i’ll be thinking of you and praying, dear friend. hoping it’s sooner rather than later.

    zoe is right. pregnant mommy’s ARE beautiful~ you being the queen of them all. :) and i like the name jack too. :)

    hugs.love.prayers.thoughts.hopingbabycomesthisweekend.:) and in the meantime – - happy fluffing of that nest little chickadee!!

  • .. love that darling crib too. :)

  • there was soooooo much sweetness here! i’m in love with your cottage and decor. your baby things and words and excited girls all bring back the memories of how special it is to anticipate and ”nest” for that new lil person. and i realized that i haven’t deep cleaned in awhile. jacob just turned seven so…umm you can do the math. teehee. i hope it hasn’t been that long, but seriously, i remember nesting like a crazy lil momma bird too.

    looking forward to the news clarita! love.hugs.prayers.

  • I forgot to tell you earlier that I LOVE your new door!!!
    I saw a door on pinterest and remembered I didn’t tell you.

    Happy evening. =)

  • so much love and anticipation going on here!! Clarita, everything is perfect. I can hardly wait to hear the exciting news of the wee one soon to join your family!!! I think of you often…. hugs and prayers!

    I didn’t realize you and Charity are due so close! =)

    I could say lots, but now that baby is fed and peacefully sleeping, I better do the same….. zzzz

    ps. The wedding pictures were a feast!!! O my word, what beauty and happiness!!

  • Thanks for the memories. I came here from Grace To Be. I’m 74 now, but I had 7 little ones, and still remember the happy anticipation.

  • I hope your delivery goes well…how exciting!!!
    Your little spring decorations are so cute. :) And the crib bedding is sooooo sweet!
    Can’t wait to hear the news!

  • your house is beautiful! loved reading about your excitement for baby dear. that’s neat that you planned a beach day on your due date!

    will be thinking of you…. hugs!

  • how fun and exciting! I hope these last days fly by for you and the little one arrives safe and well.
    I love the decorating you’ve done and I think it’s so cute how Zoe encourages you and Olivia just states the obvious :) I’m one of those obvious people too ;)

  • Came by rec of Amber’s (Grace to be)….

    Lovely post!! Congrats on the baby- and do all you can during this season of nesting. I’m positive God knew what he was doing when he programmed us to have that big gush of energy at the end! :)

  • oh Clarita, how wonderful that soon your little one will arrive and you can meet him/her. it amuses me that Jack and Rose are the choices for the babies because unbeknownst to your little Zoe those are the names of the main characters on the newly rereleased Titanic movie ;) but both beautiful names none the less ;)

    what fun if it is another little lady or a little man to change things up a bit. love that you and ben are not the only ones sooo excited this time around…i can just imagine how precious the little ones trying to imagine their new little brother or sister in this lives can be!

    i have heard of this nesting idea but didn’t realize that it gives you such energy to clean and clean…is fascinates me. i was staring with joy at your pictures of your mantle and then chuckled to myself becuase there were nests on your mantle and i got the little connection. LOVE the quote from Ann on your mantel as well.

    hoping that you get your joyfilled beach day before baby comes and good times of family celebration after as well.love you lady. hoping that the days ahead are filled with peace in your heart and joy in your soul.

    you are a very BEAUTIFUL pregnant momma, and it does seem that some people are a little lacking in tact when it comes to expressing these things. it has been my experience (through reading and hearing people tell) that something about other people being pregnant seems to bring out all the strange things in people…like touching bellies, commenting on strangers bellies etc. so bizarre.

  • oh, you have put me in the mood for another baby. there is just nothing quite like it. I just had to chuckle through your first couple paragraphs as you described your energy. i totally relate and man, wasn’t God really kind to set things up that way? it just tickles me.

    such a sweet post and what love awaits this little love. so great to see you again, and yes, you carry baby bump very well. :) Zoe is exactly right on. can’t wait to see who this lil’ person is.

    i wish you many happy moments with your family as you wait/prepare for this special time. sibling gifts are just the best.

  • Oh my…this makes me excited for you. And brings back memories of nesting. Gabriel said that whatever emotional roller coasters he had to put up with, at least the house was always clean and the fridge and pantry stocked to the brim when I was almost due! :)

  • This post is adorable, all the way around and back again! I’ve been nesting also; my daughter is coming home from her 2nd year of college very soon! I want everything to be “JUST so” for her. (Even though she really won’t care!)  I look forward to reading soon of what your baby is!

  • @Carsonsmom2 - I didn’t realize we were close in having babies! How exciting! I love finding out that other women are pregnant at the same time as me. :) Happy preparing, whether that’s shopping or cleaning. :)

     

  • @ajoyfulnusiance - thank you for your prayers! they are much appreciated!

    @TrentTribe - ha ha, so we should just hope it’s a boy?? a boy is what we’re sort of thinking it is, so maybe that’s why we have a boy name picked out better than a girl name! your story is funny!!

    @SherriMonCheri - i was afraid i’d never get that “nesting” either, because it sure wasn’t there the whole rest of the pregnancy. but 38 weeks hit me, and bam, it’s been out of control. :) i was so blessed to hear that you prayed for me. thank you, thank you.

    @mlt10202002 - your comment made me laugh out loud. :)  ”if i don’t have that nesting urge…when WILL i actually do it?” :)   and i can feel your excitement, just because i know you adore little babies… :)

    @ABAHM - someone else who knows what it’s like to go late! you’re my friend. :) i have just been expecting to go at least a week late. but i’d love to be happily surprised!

  • Your screendoor is adorable!  and the baby outfits are so sweet!   Happy nesting :)

  • Beautiful post written from a mama bird perspective that I haven’t thought of in a long while — but I do remember the nesting. I loved your spring mantle and I love the Lettered Cottage. So many neat touches for your soon to be here lil one… can’t wait to read that Jack/Rose has arrived.

  • I enjoy reading your blog! I have the exact same cradle and have been searching and searching for bedding for it, did you just take regular crib bumper and sheets and adjust them or did you find the right size? Thanks for your help!

  • I just had to giggle during this post Clarita because it is just too true! Also I can so identify It’s too bad we don’t live a little bit closer so I can have you over for a cup of tea and a little chat. That sure helps to pass the time. May these next days go by quickly and I’m hoping, hoping, hoping, for an early delivery for you! And by the way you are beautiful baby bump and all. Sometimes I think the Lord speaks through our children just to remind us of that when we may not ahem feel so beautiful. Hugs to you!

  • Hope your baby comes soon. It was so fun catching up again the other day. Here’s to an early and easy delivery AT the birthing center, and a wonderful smooth transition into three children!:)

  • Just couldn’t resist commenting…so excited for you, and a little jealous that you’re in this stage. I’m sure in August I’ll feel quite the same:)Maybe someday our babies will meet:) Enjoyed your post!

  • I’m already creating my ‘nesting list’ in my head. for those days when I’m not working so much other places anymore. There’s just something so fitting about getting the ‘nest’ all ready and in place,corners cleaned out, because in reality, who knows when one will get to it again after baby Plus then one can just snuggle in and enjoy the baby and kiddos and not worry that the place is a mess.
    on to other things, i love your spring time mantle, very pretty and fresh. And your new back door-perfect. It gives off the perfect summer vibe

  • @ata_grandma - Thank you for taking the time to comment! And seven children, what wondrous anticipation that must have been! I love big families. :)

    @SpazzyMommy - This gush of energy truly is amazing. And so God-ordained! Because I know after the baby I have zero motivation for anything except holding my new little lovie. :)

    @mytoesareblue - I hadn’t even thought about it that Jack and Rose are the names on the Titanic movie. :) How funny! Zoe is so set on those names, I’m not sure how she’s going to take it when we don’t actually name the baby either one of those! And yes, this “nesting” mode is quite the fascinating thing. I think it’s so strange and amazing, how a woman can be at her largest and most uncomfortable stage, and yet have such energy for wild cleaning and purging. :) Thank you for your comments, you are always so sweet!

    @singingrachel - This energy tickles me too. And husband just shakes his head in amazement. :) So good to see you again last weekend. I always love talking with you, and wished for more time! :)

     

  • @Jabber_wock - your comment made me laugh out loud. so very true!! :)

    @Richgem - this “nesting” urge gets so much done, doesn’t it? it’s quite a curious thing! :) happy “nesting” to you too, and enjoy your daughter this summer! :)

    @Vera - I searched for bedding too, and found cradle sheets at Babies R Us, but the bumper is a regular crib size that I just kept winding around. :) I’m sure there are cradle bumper pads to be found, I think I checked amazon.com? but when I saw this for so cheap I decided I’d improvise. Hope that helps! :)

    @lonnasjoy - aaaah, another pregnant mommy!! :) i would love a tea-time chat. those are so good for the soul anytime, but especially so when one is waiting on a baby and needing some emotional support! blessings on you these last few weeks too! and yes, i do think the Lord speaks through our children and shows us a glimpse of HIS heart through them… it’s so special!

     

     

     

  • Someone else may have said this in the comments already but, Jack and Rose? Has she been watching Titanic?? lol

    Nesting, oh boy the things you can get done while nesting! I think I mopped 4 times a day when I was pregnant with Alex at the end.I just could not get my kitchen floor clean enough. NOt that the baby would ever have been on the kitchen floor . . .haha

    Love you, lady!

  • @bethro78 - I know, isn’t that the funniest thing about Jack and Rose?? I didn’t even think of it at first, until someone else mentioned it. But nope, she’s never seen ‘Titanic’ a day in her life. :) Love you too!

  • I had to come back and tell you how motivating this post has been for me already To date I have one linen closet organized (yes, that place where the linens go to pro-create and create a big disorganized mess) I’m looking forward to many more cleaned-out corners in the weeks to come
    Happy labor–(just hoping that’s what you’re doing right this minute)

  • @fruitloops115 - ha ha, i love it! isn’t it just crazy what this nesting can do?? it makes so sense whatsoever, so be carrying around such a large middle, and have motivation in sky-high levels. :) and yes, that linen closet… i laughed at the “pro-create” because that is soo true!

    and no labor yet – but at least i know it’ll be soon!! meanwhile, i go to clean out another corner… :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *