January 12, 2012

  • Of Christmas Past

     

    This week marks two weeks that we’ve been back in the south and in our own little house.
    Back to the balmy 70′ days, although I don’t expect this to last all winter.
    I’m just thankful for all the cold and snow we had in Colorado,
    so now I don’t mind the warmth this time of year. As much. :)

    It’s quiet time in the household.
    One down for a nap,
    another quite content with paper, scissors, and glue stick.
    And I quite content with a few cookies that a friend brought over yesterday…
    If she knew how quickly we devoured that plate, well, I’d be embarassed. :)

    We’ve had to find a new normal for our little family,
    schedules and time change and even just being together most of the time.
    In Colorado I was in class every morning, and now I find my patience stretched!
    For three months we were only together half a day, and now we re-learn what is expected of each other.
    Granted, in the past four weeks since leaving the west, it’s not been a normal schedule at all.
    Much traveling and time with family and friends, and now getting resettled.
    It’s taking the kids and me a bit of time to find a rhythm with each other again,
    and honestly, there is some needed training that has been going on with the kids
    as well as repentance and apologies from me.

    I often think of the quote by Ann Voskamp,
    I don’t remember whether it’s in her book or if I just read it on her blog one day…

    The parent must always self-parent first, self-preach before child-teach,
    because who can bring peace unless they’ve held their own peace?”

    It’s so very true. Unless my heart is first at rest with my God and with the today He’s given me,
    I will never be able to welcome peace in my children or my home.
    Peace is not brought by forceful words of, “Guys, play nice with each other!!!!!”
    or various other strategies.
    It’s brought only by the Spirit of the Lord allowed to indwell.

    And as a dear friend reminded me once,
    sometimes that means falling to my knees at the kitchen sink
    and pleading for His Sweet Grace,
    first of all to be lived out in me
    and then that I can share it with my children.

    Even when it feels like I don’t have time to stop,
    like there are things to deal with now and I have to keep moving,
    nothing is more important than allowing the Sweet Spirit of Jesus
    to be present and to be residing and in control.

    It’s not that I have some little hellions on my hands, not at all. :)
    But it’s just that I desire our home to be one of rest and peace,
    not one of chaos and perpetual cat-fights.
    And I do believe that with Jesus, that is possible.
    It just starts with me, not with my kids…

    [of christmas past]

    [the whole dear family]

    Barkman Newsletter Picture 2011

    [the three dating couples, two of which are engaged!]

    Asheville Family Vaca 3401394089_10150452048503922_794693921_8950443_1511320722_n300872_10150355025963922_794693921_8601818_1337942173_n 

    [fun family times]

     

    A Pennsylvania Christmas 250A Pennsylvania Christmas 223

    A Pennsylvania Christmas 197A Pennsylvania Christmas 231  

    [family rule for christmas eve and day]

    A Pennsylvania Christmas 190

    [brown paper packages tied up with string, and other pretty presents]

    A Pennsylvania Christmas 202A Pennsylvania Christmas 239

    A Pennsylvania Christmas 245A Pennsylvania Christmas 249

    A Pennsylvania Christmas 247A Pennsylvania Christmas 246

    [the tree, and homemade ornaments]

    A Pennsylvania Christmas 200A Pennsylvania Christmas 238

    [christmas eve candlelight dinner]

    A Pennsylvania Christmas 169A Pennsylvania Christmas 164A Pennsylvania Christmas 164 
    A Pennsylvania Christmas 178A Pennsylvania Christmas 179

      A Pennsylvania Christmas 169A Pennsylvania Christmas 164

     

    Enjoy your today! And upcoming weekend!

    ~ clarita  

     

     

     

Comments (14)

  • “…it begins with me…” that is so very true. I’ve always thought that as mommas, we are the thermometers of the house :) I agree about the internet becoming too much of a time waster, I find myself getting sucked in too often. I’m so busy “researching” projects that I don’t get around to the projects!

    I love your girl’s sweet faces and their adorable red coats! The pictures you took of them and their daddy by the river are wonderful. Such keepsakes!

  • ahh.. i love this. SO much of what has been going through my mind the last while..fixing my eyes on Jesus no matter what! It sure doesn’t always come easy, but that is so the desire of my heart! and i find that when i am doing that i am SO much more content with where i am in life and who i am…can’t wait to catch up with ya again!

  • So true…And His Grace comes just right at the time that we need it! 

    I love the red coat pictures…the contrast against the rocks is beautiful!

  • awesome pictures Clarita! loved this post. and yes… the internet… a blessing and a curse… all wrapped up in one.:) love how much easier it makes it to keep in touch with far away friends though!!! blessings on your family. hope you have a lovely weekend.

  • You, dearest sister, have refreshed and delighted my soul this morning. Your heart in this post comes through loud and clear. No, I take that back. Jesus’ heart comes through. Can we please live next to each other the rest of our lives? I would come knocking on your door every day for coffee and wisdom. How much do I love you? SO MUCH. (p.s.) I could just squish the babies to death in their red coats. Puh-recious.

  • I agree with WasabiBek…the internet, a blessing and a curse!
    I LOVE how you changed your To Do’s to To Be’s…that is a good way to live.
    You are such an encouraging blogger! Your post just….Smile. =)

    Those red coats are adorable. They are so darling against the outdoor scene. Such a pretty contrast.
    You are a beautiful as always…and glowing! =)

    Happy Friday to you.
    Have a great weekend!

  • so wonderful to read your thoughts and see your beautiful family…both extended and your cute girls in red! I like what you said about changing to do’s to to be’s.

    Love the candles on the table, the glow and lights.

    Found I have missed a bunch of posts, so I will be back when I have some more time. Congratulations on your sweet expected baby!

  • yes….being content with my relationship with Jesus regardless of the things going on or not going on around me!  There are only so many things in my life I have a say in and building on a relationship with Jesus is a big one! I get to choose how much I grow…how much I learn to embrace grace….how close I walk with Him!

    Good New Years resolutions!

    and the candlelight is so peaceful!
    Lighting adds so much to an experience!
    Just ask my kids….on long winter evenings, I’m always walking around turning off lights and lighting candles.

  • okay. i was scrolling through fast cause i don’t have alot of time right now, and then i stopped. this just isn’t a post to scroll through fast. i’ve got to come back and savor!! :) AND read the below post i missed too!!!

    so. be back. :)

  • how fun that all of your sisters are “in a relationship” at the same time and how cool to have a wedding coming up!
    So many good words! I liked how you talked about following the Spirit’s leading. That’s something I really need to work on!
    I love how creative you all are in wrapping up your Christmas packages! Cute!
    Lovely girls in their red coats!
    Happy Weekend to you!

  • LOVE the red coats! And all your pictures!

  • I really loved what you had to say about resolutions. So often mine pertain more to the effect of doing, rather than being. This has really encouraged me to re-evaluate some of mine! And not because I need to be just like Clarita either…(that online comparison again gets me time and time again:) but rather because I need to be the wife/mother/person God wants me to be.

    Beautiful family, beautiful words! Keep letting God use you.

  • Learning how to be instead of how to do is something I am needing to learn over and over again and sometimes I don’t think I’ll ever really get it b/c I am such a DOER in all my tendencies. So many inspiring words here. And on the internet … a blessing and a curse. But I really don’t want to do without it and unfortunately, I may have to in a few months. :/ Not sure I want to think about that just yet. Such a beautiful Christmas!

  • oh.. i like the cell phone dish!! ;) great idea~ and the brown paper packages tied up w/ string. so clever! looks like y’all had a great christmas~ your family seems so close and i love the joy you see when you guys are together. not to mention it’s a pretty good looking family too!! ;)

    welcome back to the xanga world. missed your presence here.

    wonderful quote by ann. how true. convicting. parenting is more about me than my kids. yes! but how quick i forget.

    thinking of you in these days of finding your new normal now. xo

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *