June 20, 2011

  • Yard Sale & Special #4

     

    It’s Monday afternoon. And I am SO happy to have the weekend behind us!

    It was a fun, busy time – a lot of events going on with Ben’s family because of a lovely girlfriend brought around by his brother, and then preparing for the yard sale Saturday, early mornings & late nights…

    The yard sale was something we had been dreading and looking forward to at the same time.

    Dreading because of ALL the work that goes into something like that…
    …the purging of the house
    … the cleaning out of cupboards and drawers and closets, and, worst of all, attic
    … the hours spent organizing and pricing and cleaning various articles
    … remembering to put the ad in the paper by Monday morning
    … remembering to get a permit, lest the police shut down our yard sale (this actually happens here!!?!)

    [the signs my neighbor, Lauren, and I made ~ and it was so fun the day of the yard sale when people told us they came because they saw our signs, and knew it had to be a nice yard sale with those kinds of signs!]

    yard sale 1

    [cute yard sale signs inspired by Janelle! she does everything with such beauty!]

    And very much looking forward to it because…
    … of all the families that were participating (neighbor, church friend, Ben’s sister, Ben’s brother & wife, and us)  and how fun that would be! (5 in our front yard, plus two more families in the neighboring yard)
    … after all the work, hoping for a successive sale!
    … of a little bit of money made from all the work
    … of HOW CLEAN the whole house would feel after all the STUFF was taken OUT!
    … of making cute little signs, and hoping that would draw people, regardless of whether the newspaper printed an entirely different address for our ad

    [my daughters got a hold of a paintbrush the day of the sign-making... thanks to Lauren for capturing the moment. :)  if it's not markers, it's a paintbrush!]

    girls paintings

     

    This is the 3rd house we’ve lived in in our 6 years of marriage, and each house keeps getting smaller and smaller. :) Since our 1st house five years ago, I’ve been saving things – decor, books, a lot of different household articles, just hoping for the one day that I’d live in a house that would hold them all!

    I finally came to the realization that that day is a long way off, and it would be much better to live clutter-free in my present house, with two closets to its name, than to have an attic full of things that would never make it down the stairs. So, we sold a dining room full of stuff! Nice stuff! Stuff I liked! But I have other stuff I like better. :) So the nice stuff was sold so I could keep the stuff I loved!

    [the sign as people walked into the yard]

    yard sale 2

    I have no pictures at all from the entire day. Sadly.
    But our front yard was a blur of activity from 6am to 12pm.
    The rain that had poured the past three nights held off.
    Even the sun hid behind the clouds until noon, gracing us with a pleasant day instead of melting us.
    And in that time we went from a dining room full of boxes down to four little boxes that fit in the front of the truck!!
    And the other people that participated almost completely sold out as well! We were all so excited!

    I do think everyone felt very pleased – the yard sale vendors, for getting rid of things that were not needful, and the buyers, to find a yard sale where people were selling NICE things! :) [that is not common in this area: many yard sales here sell things that should really be in the trash).

    I'm SO glad it was all over! Sunday night I was so exhausted fromt he weekend I actually felt ill. Today has been laaaaaazy. But I think we earned a few extra hours of sleep this morning after getting up at 5:30 on a SATURDAY morning. :)

    And that was our weekend........ :)

    ___________________________________________________________________

     

    The Mary Kay special for June 20-25 is:

    Lips

    [NouriShine Lip Gloss]

    [Creme Lipstick]

    [Tinted Lip Balm Sunscreen]

    and all other lip products,

    as well as

     Fragrances!

     

    Personal recommendations:

    I love the NouriShine Lip Glosses ~ they add a bit of color and shine, and are easy to apply [even without a mirror - a necessity for this mother! :) ]. I like the Cream & Sugar, Fancy Nancy, Starry, & Gold Rush.

    And my favorite perfume from Mary Kay is the Bella Belara ~ a lovely fragrance without being overpowering. This also comes in a shimmer lotion, shower gel, and small purse-sized fragrance wand.

    Just my favorites. :)

    All LIP products and FRAGRANCES [mens & womens] are 20 percent off from June 20-25, and there is free shipping as well!

    You are welcome to visit www.marykay.com/claritayoder for more information and selections!


     

    ~all proceeds from Mary Kay are going toward our fund for Ellerslie, October-December of 2011]

     

    And I must be off – it’s 3:40pm and I still can hear two little girls bouncing in their beds, no nap yet taken… :)

     

    ~clarita

     



     

Comments (21)

  • Yeah, isn’t it such a GREAT feeling to have less “stuff” in your house.  But only 2 closets in the entire house? Did I read that right?  Wow!  That would really give me a heart attack.

    I am NOT a minimalist, and I would like to learn to be more of one!

  • @appalolly - You did read that right. I have a slightly hard time with it! And I have a few cupboards in my laundry that help tremendously.

  • I sincerely wish I could have been at that yard sale! I am sure it would have been about like Pottery Barn’s clearance section. Blessings as you “de-clutter”!

  • It’s probably good I wasn’t at the yard sale ’cause I know I would’ve been too tempted. :) And my house is full enough. But I’m glad you had a very successful day, and other folks got good merchandise, not junk!! Someone in this area should do a workshop on sales that are worth their time. It’s so discouraging to browse through stuff that should be trashed!

    Do you have any perfume samples? I’m getting near the end of the bottle that I’ve been using and it’s time to look for some more. I don’t think I’ve smelled any MK perfumes.

  • i think i would have loved your yardsale I also love the feeling of coming home from having a yardsale with much less then I left with. There’s nothing like the feeling of cleaning out and getting rid of!

  • oh, after having just ‘survived’ a yard sale myself, i know just how you felt!!! but, it is SO worth every bit of the work!!
    glad you took the day to be lazy!
    cute header…looks like an anniversary is coming right up! hope you have a great celebration!

  • My personal favorite was and still is Bella Belara… and I loved Gold Rush. Their lip glosses are nice! I’m planning on having a big yardsale in the coming month because we need to get ride of about half of our household things… It’s going to be a big yardsale and I hope it goes well!

  • @justcallmeM - I have some samples coming! I’ll drop them off when I get them. :)

    @shellElynn - @fruitloops115 - ha ha! not exactly Pottery Barn clearance. :) but just a general selection of various household items!

    @MartinTreehouse - I hope too you do well! It is such a good feeling to come away from a yard sale with not much to even box up and take away!

  • What aDORable signs! You make me want to have a yard sale just to make signs! :) And actually, I’d like the cash afterward, too. It’s time to do another de-cluttering around here. Living in a big house turns you into a pack rat and I thought I would NEVER be one of those. But it’s one of those, well, I might use this again sometime and I have the room to store it and then I won’t have to buy it later if I do need it so I guess I’ll stick it in here kind of phenomenons. And sometimes I’m glad I kept things. But OH the storage room it takes.

  • We are another “2 closet household”. :) A small one for extra diapers and food and a teeny tiny one for coats. It doesn’t bother me that much anymore until I go to a friends house and see their many spacious closets. :( Glad your yard sale was a success! I know they are a lot of work. Happy sixth anniversary!

  • What a darling yard sale that must’ve been. i can’t believe you didn’t donate some of your dishes to me first! lol! :) love your new header on your site!! and the marykay stuff is sooo cool. i shouldn’t have so many glosses already or i’d buy you out of town! ha! :) and i am sooo into perfumes right now. just bought another kind from paris. :) MISS YOU!!!

  • I would have LOVED to be at your yard sale. I’m sure you had such fun, fun things to buy.
    Yay for a good sale!  So glad the weather was nice.
    I think those are the cutest yard sale signs I have ever, ever seen.

    LOVE the lip gloss from MK. I can’t remember what my color is called….it’s the brownish tube.  It’s in my purse, I’ll have to go check. haha.
    I also didn’t order any eye shadow yet….hopefully if I do it this week, it will still help out the Ellerslie fund.

    Happy Tuesday to you. =)

  • Oh yeah, your header. It’s so CUTE! I love that picture.
    Happy Pre-Anniversary to you.

  • @rachi882 - these old houses sure have character, but not storage space! :)

     

    @Elizabethmarie_1 - I thought the same thing about *your* yard sale. :) Wished I could have been there!!

  • I’ve often wondered why signs for Garage sales leave out the b.

  • PS: Very good post!

  • I love your new header!  And I noticed you have an anniversary coming up, so may I be the first to say “Happy Anniversary!”  Does this mean that you will post pictures of your beautiful day?  (hint, hint :)   I’d love to see them!

  • @SherriMonCheri - Thank you! By ‘beautiful day’ do you mean our anniversary day tomorrow or our wedding day?? :)

  • Well, I guess if you want to post pictures of your day tomorrow, that’d be fine too :)   I just now realized you got married on a Friday…cool.  And I do hope that you have a beautiful day tomorrow!

  • once again Clarita, i wish i was closer…those MK deals look great, especially the lip glosses ;) perhaps i’ll have to find a mailbox over the border for you to send them too ;)

    happy anniversary today to you and your hubby! wow 6 years i believe. May the Lord continue to bless the years you have ahead!!

    thank you so much for sharing about your yard sale. i have a hard time getting rid of things cause i’m usually thinking of ONE DAY or i really like this so why should i get rid of it, but some of your comments were encouraging and challenging for me. Thank you.

    praying that your fund for your journey to Ellerslie is growing! so excited for this opportunity for you guys! it sounds amazing

  • SO LOVELY. i would have RACED to that sale if I saw those signs, that’s for sure!!!  Doesn’t it feel so good now, to have it all “cleaned out.”  Less is more, (but I’m not one to talk, my house is still *full* even after I purge it)!  GREAT JOB CLARITA!! i know the work that goes into making something like this happen! I’m proud of you FOR GOING FOR IT!!! 

    i wish i could pack myself in your parents truck this weekend.  someday i will come down to you! xoxo.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *