September 23, 2010

  • Making Pretties.

     

    My online time the couple of months has been greatly limited, due to a three main things.

    1. The daily joys and challenges of being a wife, mother, household-keeper, laundress, chef, grounds-keeper, teacher-of-how-children-should-get-along [to one's own children]…

    2. The weekly involvement in a Bible Study with four girls from our church’s youth group. I LOVE LOVE this… even though finding the time to studying amidst #1 can be challenging some weeks.

    Late Summer, Twenty-Ten 107

    3. The preparation for My Faire Lady!

    This was a brainstorm that happened upon me a few months ago – the idea to have a little booth at a local festival, exhibiting a few little things that are homemade. Cute homemade. ;)

    Late Summer, Twenty-Ten 061

    [ruffled pillows, in charcoal and [not shown] in white]

    Late Summer, Twenty-Ten 072

    So, after talking to 2 wonderfully talented friends in the area, the three of us decided to try to make a go of our idea! I am sooo excited to be doing this with Linda and Veronica – both amazing seamstresses and talented women!

    [covered clipboards in small and large]

    Late Summer, Twenty-Ten 059

    We are all having our own little niche, certain things that each of us are doing, and then we’re overlapping a bit too, in what we’re doing. Our little things include [this is all of us, not just me]: window panels, shoulder bags, diaper clutches, pacifier ribbon holder, burp cloths, clip boards, hair flowers and pretties…

    [whoever knew there is so much COOL fabric out there. i want to start sewing for my girls next!]

    August, 2010 060

    [ruffled half-apron, in the making. Can you tell I'm in love with anything ruffly (??) right now? :) ]

    Late Summer, Twenty-Ten 028

    [Zoe, age three. Loving to be involved, and is constantly saying, "I want to WATCH you..."

    August, 2010 065

    So, in a little more than a week, we will be full-swing into

    "My Faire Lady -
     an eclectic assortment of things beautiful, vintage, and feminine."

    [a sneak peak into the burp cloths]

    August, 2010 070  August, 2010 068  August, 2010 066 August, 2010 059

    [hair flowers. these are called 'lollipop flowers' - i googled them on youtube to learn how to make them]

    August, 2010 055 - Copy

    August, 2010 052 - Copy - Copy

    It’s either going to be a grand success, OR I will have five years worth of gifts left over!! A little nervous about that.  :)

    So, these are just a few of the many things that will be [attemping to be] sold at our little county festival! If you’re local, be sure to come and check us out!

     

    Happy weekend to you!

    -clarita

     

     

     

Comments (33)

  • O my! What darling things you have made. So sorry I won’t be here to come to your booth! Hope it’s a smashing success!!

  • Awesome!! so, this must be the venture you referred to some time ago…wish I could be there to stop by your booth!! and the wonderful world of fabrics…o, i could just go CRAZY in that world! SO inspiring to me when I start buying fabrics..dreaming of what it can become!
    super cute stuff; best wish for a smashing success!!
    ♥~R

  • wow! that’s really neat Clarita. hope you do really well at your stand.

  • wow! Go you! that looks really fun, but lots of work too. I hope it is a SMASHING sucess!
    Love the fabrics, where did you get those, or where are your favorite places? I’m constantly perusing fabric sites these days….

  • you do it all so well. The pillow is darling! Head bands like that, would they look ok on a little boy? jk. I miss that part of not having a girl. I am sure you can sell any of these above item’s!!

  • i am wishin that i was a local ~ to cross paths with you irl and to snap up some of your “pretties!”
    hope that the event is fun and successful!

    i always enjoy when you post and am amazed by your creative abilities!
    i was eyeballing some pillows like you made at tjmaxx just the other night. did you use ribbon for your ruffles?
    i love all the ruffle-ly and flowery things everywhere right now! so pretty and feminine!!!

  • I want, Want, WANT those pillows in cream and brown! I LOVE them, and I am not a pillow kind of girl. …. but I loved those! You should start an Etsy shop … I would definatly shop there.

  • I want, Want, WANT those pillows in cream and brown! I LOVE them, and I am not a pillow kind of girl. …. but I loved those! You should start an Etsy shop … I would definatly shop there. Good luck at market

  • I love that pillow!! And the headband.

  • You ladies are so creative! Wish I had half your talents. If I was local I would totally come buy some stuff.

  • adorableness and i really think you guys will do well.  i just found out how to make lollilop flowers and can’t wait to do some stuff with them.  the burp diapers… be still my beating heart.  only wish i could run to your stand on saturday.  have fun.

  • I love ruffles and I love flowers and therefore I’m loving all your stuff ;) that pillow looks so cute and so easy to make! And the headband…too cute! If you have any leftovers…you could sell them on here :)

  • LOVE the little flowers…I’ve been wanting to learn to make them. I so need that pillow in brown….I’ll have to see what I can do like that. Hope your venture is a big hit!

  • What she [previous lady] said! If we all want and like your stuff so much, why not sell it on here? Only problem with that is shipping . . . I detest shipping charges . . . or at least rediculous ones. Of course I’m hoping things don’t sell so hot for you, ’cause I can see myself being one of those gift recipients~or at least I already was once upon a time for some LOVELY burp clothes!! But JK about wishing failure. :) I hope it really does go amazingly wonderful for you and the other ladies! So fun to have something to do that can bring in a little extra $$, right? I love everything you’ve made here . . .

    The book and the girl’s Bible Study sound so, um, soul-soothing/edifying. Can I come? Bless you for doing that in this stage of life! I love the memories of interaction with young girls when I single, and tho my heart leaps at opportunities to volunteer and help out in various church things right now, I always get jerked back into reality about that REALLY quickly when I remember that I’d have to get a sitter in order to volunteer (so how far ahead would that get me?) or would end up being stressed out trying to manage all of me and mine PLUS do the activity. So I try to comfort myself with the fact that this is a *season* of life where I’m feeling like more of a “taker” in social activities, but one day~not too far off, I’m told~I can once again be more of a contributer. Not that I don’t do ANYTHING at all, but in comparison to what I USED to do, it isn’t much now.

    Ok, why am I on that little schpiel? Must have been on my mind lately.

    Let’s get together again soon, shall we. Ok good. I thought you’d agree. :)

    Love you.

  • pure deliciousness! i wish i lived close and actually knew you, so i could be one of the lucky recipients of some of the non sales.

  • I also think you should start an etsy shop! I loved all your pretties!

  • *gasp* Could you make shipping to far away places an option? Those pillows and hair flowers are to die for….I agree with everyone else, why stop at having a booth? I say start an Etsy shop!

  • @foreveranoatneygirl

     - yes, this is it. :) think of me on saturday in a week, will you? you know what it’s like!!

    @fruitloops115 - i bought these fabrics as a local little fabric shop and at JoAnns. somehow i can’t quite buy online yet… i don’t know if the colors are accurate, and it’s just so FUN to actually go in a little fabic shop!

    @down_onthefarm - thanks! :) you’re very sweet! the ruffles on the pillow: i used the same fabric as the pillows, but used a very loose stitch on my sewing machine and didn’t pull it through tightly and it ruffled itself like that! i was very happy i didn’t have to hand-pull all those little threads to make it ruffle. :)

    @singingrachel - wait till you see the finished burp cloths. they’ll make a grandmother want to have another baby. :) ha! and have fun with those lollipop flowers! they’re so fun, and you can do so much with them! :)

    @The_Carpers - 

    @lorennmeg - 

    @shellElynn - 

    maybe we’ll have to do an etsy shop! i secretly opened an account there a few weeks ago but don’t have anything listed yet. i’m hoping to sell out next weeked. ha ha!

    and yes, i could ship to faraway places. :) especially if they’re lightweight things, it wouldn’t cost very much, i wouldn’t think… i only have about 100 flowers/headbands/pins right now… (!!) i’m almost flowered out! but i’ll put some more pictures up within the next week or two….

    @FOREVERLANE - you just “get” me with that Bible Study… thanks! yes, i’m *loving* it, but there are some weeks when it seems like i just can’t do it justice because of where i’m at with my little family… one good thing – it’s forcing me to be an early riser (6am) which for me is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.  :) ) And I say YES to your invitation to get together. When will it work for you? :)

  • OMW that pillow is to DIE FOR!!!! such gorgeousness and mad creativity! ;) your home is turning into a little “martha stewart” abode! i love seeing this side come out of you . . .

  • I love reading your blog. You’re so talented and creative! And your girls are gorgeous.

  • Hello, my name is Ervina and I’m a big fan. May I have ten of everything please? (not sure what I’ll do with all the burp cloths but I’ll put them to good use somehow)

  • I WANT THAT PILLOW!!!!! I Love it!  Everythng is so adorable!  I think you should start an etsy shop too. Your stuff is so cute.
    I come from a family of sewers, somehow, I didn’t get that sewing gene all my sisters got from my mom.  I tried making a quilt once for my husband before we were married and he was away at college. It was supposed to fit his twin bed….well, by the time I was finished, it was more like a crib sized quilt!  I decided then that I was a better shopper than a seamstress!

    Your little girl is so cute.  I love when you post, you really should do it more often!  I know you said you’re busy, and I know that you have two little, little girls, but that’s No Excuse!!! Lol.

  • oh, i’d love to come! :) & your things look ao attractive…hope your day goes well!

  • head bands and flowers are so in right now. you just may sell out. I know if my 13 year old girl would be able to come she would buy one of each. Best wishes. You do a great job. It sure was nice to hear from you again.

  • Super, super beautiful! I hope you guys have a super success. It seems like the kind of things southern ladies would snatch up! :) I LOVE the clipboards. haven’t seen them before. I’ve had something half dreamed up, wanted to use clipboards, but was feeling like it wasn’t quite the perfect look. Now I think I could make it happen w/ something like this. Be sure to take lots of pictures before you get flooded with customers. :)

  • @dreamstillcometrue - you silly, silly sister. :)

    @grandpas_gurl - awww, shucks. like i said, you should come help me and we could have a fun little business. ;)

    @Elizabethmarie_1 - no excuse, ha ha! :) thanks though, you always cheer my day when *you* post!

    @twofus_1 - yeah, i’m sure hoping this is something these southern women like. cuz if they like something, they’ll buy it. regardless of cost. [not that we're having sky-high prices, but, you know... :) ] i’m really nervous, to tell you the truth…

  • the only way i will ever have you over for tea again is if you sell me one of those pillows!! :)

    OH CLARITA!!! it’s all soooo precious; the vision, the name, the late nights, the creative juices, the slight panic….it’s takes teamwork to make the dream work!!!!

    YOU GO GIRL!!!!!

    xoxo from Strasburg!!

  • Everything is super  cute. Any recomendations where you can  find adorable fabric, i  enjoy sewing and i am always on the look out  where to buy it.  I really like your pillow cases.

  • @LatteLuv - this fabric was an assortment from a teeny little fabric store in our area, as well as a trip to Jo-Ann Fabrics, an hour and a half away. We don’t have much selection around here at all – not like I was used to in Lancaster with little fabric stores around every corner! Good luck finding little fabric stores near you! :) I know some people shop online for fabrics. That would be a huge selection, but so far I haven’t done that because I just like to see everything in real life. :) But that’s something you could try out!

  • How has the selling of beautiful goods gone so far?? Maybe you should do a follow-up post to let us know you’re sold out OR to sell your wares to all of us. :) Loved seeing you last week! What a shock . . . at a fair of all places.

  • Your style is amazing. & That Pillow Is TO DIE for Cute and I want to buy one. Did you open your etsy shop yet, I would love to check it out.

  • @SC_girl - Hi! We haven’t opened our etsy shop yet, still trying to decide if we want to go that route… But I do have a similar pillow left, with 3 ruffles instead of 7. I’m selling it for $20 plus $5 shipping if you’re interested!

  • If I knew that it was the final piece to make my new room complete I would scoop it up in a minute. I still have yet to find the perfect bedding, etc and so I will wait until I know. In the mean time sell it if you get a chance and i won’t forget where to check if I decide it would be perfect. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *