April 11, 2010

  • Thoughts about Remodeling.

     

    In the midst of this busy life, I’m not sure writing is even a good idea. My brain feels frazzled, and I don’t know if my thoughts can even come out straight. But this is what’s been going on…

    1.    Sick children.
    First the flu, then a nasty cough. We’ve been quarantined the last little while – not with adults as much, but with little babies and children.

    Along with that comes lots of up and down times at night. I think their sleeping patterns are getting better, but for the last little while I’ve been getting up 5+ times at night. That may not sound like much, but having sleep interrupted like that for many, many nights in a row takes a toll on a normal woman. It sure does on me.

    Feeling a little tired because of that, and a little lonely because of being quarantined, but it’s not anybody’s fault. In time, we’ll be up and about again.

    2.    A crashed computer. We knew our ten-year old laptop had seen better days, but over a week ago it suddenly died without warning. For a couple of days I lived in great paranoia that some of my pictures were forever gone. I had backed some up, or rather, BEN had backed them up for me, but not since about 6 months ago. I was getting devastated feelings already. I MUST learn to back up regularly!!

    Well, $230 dollars poorer, we have our pictures retrieved. One day after painting, I walked into Smiley Technology (seriously, who would call their computer shop by that name??),  and tried not to choke on the wave of cigarette smoke that hit me. I explained the crashed computer situation, and asked if they could look at the computer and try to retrieve any pictures and documents for me.

    “You mean you want data recovery?” asked the secretary.

    Um, yeah, THAT. Data recovery. Sounds much better. Much “techy-er” – something I’m not.

    But we understood each other. And now I really love Smiley Technology, because I got a phone call two days later that my pictures and documents data has been successfully recovered. I still have to pick it up, but hey, they can name themselves anything they like, if they are able to save my pictures!

    Just a day before the computer crashed, we had ordered a new computer via amazon. It took a bit for the computer to arrive, and then to install all the necessary programs. All said, we were computer-less and internet-less for over a week. After the initial thing of holding my breath, waiting on the data retrieval, the technology-gone week was actually kind of nice for a change. :) But only for a week!!

    Also on the blink has been my cell phone. I can’t talk to anyone except on speakerphone. And the speakerphone has only one volume – LOUD. So loud that the whole phone vibrates when someone is talking to me, and it literally makes my ears hurt. So, hardly any phone conversations these days. I think I need to check into a new cell phone as well…

    3.      Most time-consuming thing now has been the new old house.

    Ben has been working on it almost full-time since the middle of February, and we’ve still got a month of work before we move in.

    I SO READY to move there.

    Well, maybe not quite yet.

    “There aren’t any beds there.” as Zoe says.
    Nope, there aren’t.

    And there are lots of other things that aren’t there either.

    March-April, 2010 071

    What IS there right now is lots of
    wood
    dust
    and
    work.

    It’ll be a sweet house when it’s completed.

    It’s just getting to the completed part.

    [dreaming about front porches...]

    March-April, 2010 063

    March-April, 2010 062

     

    And it’s coming.

    Slowly.

    But it’s coming.

    This past week I started with the painting. That was SO EXCITING for me. As exciting as it could get with two kids two and under there in the dirt and mess with me. :) But this is the first that I feel like I can really help and be involved.

    [first strokes of paint! I'm excited! And looking as winter-white as the drywall behind me]

    March-April, 2010 070

    We thought we were going to hire out the painting. I just didn’t know how I was going to do it with two little kids. But I LOVE to paint, and I told Ben that I would like to attempt the job. Even if I’m not able to do the entire project, and just do 2/3 of the house, that’s still going to be saving big-time for us on the money end of things.

    So, I started.

    Playpen in one hand, paint brush in the other, and walked in the door. Zoe had a little bucket and shovel that she brought to play in a dirt pile outside. The kids really did amazingly well. Some days we only stay a little bit. Other days we stay longer. I try to be sensitive to them, because this is a long process for them too, and a wise friend said to really listen to my kids as far as how much I can do each day. So I’ve been trying to do that. And trying not to get frustrated when I SO BADLY want to keep

    filling nail holes,
    scraping,
    caulking,
    priming,
    painting.

    March-April, 2010 080

    I can be so project-oriented that I can miss people. And I so badly don’t want to miss my kids through all this. They are far more important than banging stuff out at the house, and I want to remember that. Remember that in my heart, to where I don’t get frustrated when they’re done after only 2 hours of working at the house. To where I kiss them anyway and still laugh with them, instead of becoming impatient and frustrated that my goals aren’t being accomplished at the house.

    [A little Leah that's at the end of her day]

    March-April, 2010 072

    Saturday, my mother in law gave me a very happy surprise by dropping by the house, picking up the girls, and taking them home with her for the afternoon and evening. Did Ben and I ever tear around that day. So fun. More filling nail holes, sanding, priming, and – yay- first REAL coat of paint on two bathroom walls! Exciting!

    [lunchtime]

    March-April, 2010 066

    And Monday, a VERY sweet lady surprised the socks of me by coming in to the mess and dirt with a vente Starbucks white mocha with caramel in her hand for me! For those of you that don’t know this area, the closest Starbucks is an HOUR away. Yes, that lady is VERY sweet. That cup of coffee was oh-so-treasured!

    March-April, 2010 074

    And old house just has so. much. work. I used to think that old construction was easier than new, but now I’m not so sure. There is an unending amount of sanding to do. And scraping. I detest scraping.

    But the end result will be so fun. I know it. And that keeps me going.

    [THIS is what one of the fireplace mantels looks like.]

    March-April, 2010 057

    [THIS is sort of what I'm wanting it to look like. But it will literally take me a whole day to sand it like that]

    March-April, 2010 058

    Even if I fall into bed each night completely exhausted.
    Even if I feel like I hardly have a life because my cell phone hardly works and I can’t talk to my friends right now.
    Even if it feels like we hardly have a life besides working on the house (I don’t like that part).

    [kitchen. this is probably what needs the most amount of work yet]

    March-April, 2010 055

    I’m glad for a Sunday. Where we can rest before plunging into another busy week…

    [the old-fashioned door bell ringer thing that you turn]

    March-April, 2010 050

    This is exhausting work. Sheer exhaustion. And somehow exhilarating. Strange how it can be both.

    [Beams Ben installed in the living room and dining room.]

    March-April, 2010 001

    [one of the cool old doors]

    March-April, 2010 002

    [fireplace in the living room dilemna: do we cover up the asymmetrical brick? Is it going to drive me crazy if we leave it?]

    March-April, 2010 047

    [the bottom of the same fireplace: WHAT TO DO with the blue brick against the gorgeous antique brick in the back? It's not the same kind of brick. Paint it? Different mantel?]

    March-April, 2010 048

    Meanwhile, I score hundreds of magazines to try to pull together all my favorites…

    March-April, 2010 006

    And then try to arrange them into about 20 different files to keep them organized. I feel like I’m bursting with ideas at this point. The only difficulty will be implementing them in a two-bedroom cottage!

    March-April, 2010 007

    Sometime I’ll have time to explain a bit more about the house that we are now calling ours, with its high ceiling and hundred years of history.

    And about how this is the 3rd house that we’re going to live in since we’re married, and how I didn’t see any of the 3 before we bought/rented them…

    That’ll be another time. This will give you a little glimpse until then!

    Wish me lots of energy, please!!! :)

    ~clarita

     

     

Comments (20)

  • We’re with you…we are doing lots of scraping and painting and drywelling in our old house too! (My grandparent’s place). We move in in June, whether it is ready or not!

  • The house is so cute I lovvve the old doors and fireplaces, the door bell ringer and front porch! I’m sure you’ll make it look wonderful!! (:

  • First of all, I’m so sorry about all the sickness and isolation! I know all too well about that; it seems to have been the story of our winter/early spring, and it is not fun! Here’s hoping that the sickness is ’bout over and you all will be have a healthy spring and summer!

    And, the remodeling! Oh, I just love it! I would love to come down and help you with all that painting and sanding…..while that sort of thing is hard work, I love, love, love the satisfaction of a job well done and the fact that you made it happen, you made it look like you wanted it! I can’t wait to see more pictures as you go along, and once you are in. It’s gorgeous! Old homes are just so beyond awesome with their character, and history!

    Smiley Technology? Seriously, it sounds like something you would read in the comics!ha! I’m glad you are getting your ‘data retrieved’…we know about the crashed computers and not knowing if you’ve lost many precious pictures and documents…NOT fun!

    may you have lots of energy this week!!
    ♥~Rachel

  • Beautiful… even amidst all the dirt and work.  And I can’t wait to see more pictures as you go along.  I’m very certain you will come up with some great ideas to make the house unique to you.

    Will you be coming for Bethany’s wedding?  I’m guessing you will be and I look forward to chatting with you then.  It’s coming right up.

    And to you… i wish you boundless energy and a sensitvity to the needs of your family.

  • So sorry about the sickness/isolation!  No.fun.period.

    I SO know what you are talking about with the scare of lost ”data”!  I had the same thing happen last year.  I told Lee I will need some major counseling IF all the pictures were lost!  But, thanks to the “techs” I ended up with a successful retrieval as well! YAY!! 

    The house already looks dreamy…can’t wait to see more pics as you progress!  Cheers to you for tackeling the painting…even with your two little girls!  Wow, sounds like you have way more energy then I do right now!  I’m so happy for you in getting this old house to remodel to your style and liking!  I think that would be so fun!! 

    Lots more energy to you! 

  • oh wow! You guys have sure done a lot of work and looks like you’ve got lots more to do :) I’m sure it will look awesome when you get it finished! We’re currently in a kitchen remodel and it sure is a lot of work and hard to do while we’re living in the house :)

  • Hi Clarita..I was going to let you know that “Smileys” computer shop was named that, because that is their last name and I know that because (sadly to say) their actually my dad’s first cousins. I say, (sadly to say), because of the way they carry themselves but only God can help change them. Y’alls house will look amazing when your creative hand is finished and I so can not wait to see pictures! Hope y’all are doing well!

  • Oh, Clarita, you are so brave! I am remembering all the caulking and filling nail holes and painting and sanding here and I am pretty sure I would not have lasted more then a day or two with two children in tow. Adam went to his grandma’s house or a sitter more days then I wanted to think about; but it was almost the only option. Even so, it took me several months to paint. I wish I could come help you for a day. Your house has beautiful character features in it and I can hardly wait to see what all you choose to do with it! My parents bought a very, very old house in SC and basically had to gut it and start over. I think that’s why my dad talked us out of it because as you said, “you work twice for your house.” Still, David dreams of someday converting an old one.

    So sorry about the sick babies. I hope you get to sleep uninterrupted again soon. Wishing you strength, energy, patience, and encouragement!

  • wow! i know about sick babies. hard. i don’t know about fixing up a house with sick babies!! sounds quite difficult! wishing you grace and rest, and lots of productive energy!!!

  • I can so relate to what you’re saying – remodeling and having small children is not the most fun for goal oriented people. I pretty much work over there only on Sat. and occasionally a couple hours during the day – but to get everyone loaded and then not be able to work much anyways kinda started being not worth it to me. It’s gotten easier since Nadia is older, when we started she was only a year old, now she’s 2.5. What I’m jealous of is Ben being able to work there full time – seems like we’d be done lickety- split that way. OH well, I’m about beside myself with excitement that we will actually be living at the house next month – even if it’s a small apartment and I still have to go up a bunch of stairs. Keep on trucking – it’ll come.

  • I do not envy you guys at all!  We have our hands full with our new construction house but I think what you’re doing is a whole lot more work.  I am spoiled though, having two teenage boys to help with most of the work… unlike our first house when I was pregnant the whole entire time and we did practically everything ourselves!  I hope your work will speed on by and you’ll be in your house before you know it!

  • Do you know how much I hate not being there and not even knowing what your future house looks like? Can I PLEASE come down and help? I’m not a very skilled remodeler, my friends do say, but we sure would have fun together, wouldn’t we? :)

  • I peeked in your house over the Dogwood Festival. :) It will be very charming when you are finished with it!!!! The walls you took out in the front of the house make such a huge difference in the way things look. And I would love to help you paint sometime. This coming Saturday is FULL to the brim for me but maybe the next Saturday? Or if you do a “paint day” some other day I could take off of work?

  • @theabsentmindedprofessor - sounds like you know all about old house remodel! wish we could help each other out! :) kinda give a little boost, you know?

    @foreveranoatneygirl - I’d sure take your help. Not to mention it would be fun to work with you! :)

    @clearlyhis - You made me laugh out loud – “major counseling.” Pretty much describes it though! I would have been a wreck had I lost everything!!

    @redladybug18 - I didn’t know that’s actually someone’s last name! That makes a lot more sense! :) Thanks for telling me.

    @smilesbymiles - Not sure if I’m brave or crazy. Most days it feels crazy. I think I’ll end up doing sitters some days too. Hard to know what’s best for the girls – taking them along so we can all be together, or going to someone’s house so their days are a little more “normal.” And I hope you can get your old house one day, although your house now looks beautiful!

    @RICHK1200 - Wow, Shannon, I think I’VE been overwhelmed – and we are just doing a little 1500 square foot house! I bet you are SO READY to be kind of done for a while. And I can’t wait to see pictures of what you’re doing. Pretty sure it’s going to be amazing. :)

    @Yoderfamilyof5 - Being pregnant the whole time?? Whew. At  least I don’t have that to deal with. :)

    @dreamstillcometrue - Is is really true that you haven’t even SEEN the house yet? That is RIDIC, I tell you. Families should not have that kind of no-see-em’s. And we sure would have fun together. Would we EVER. :) You must come. Tomorrow??

    @justcallmeM - You’re so kind! I think Linda is talking about getting together a work day sometime soon, and I’m not sure if it would be on a Saturday or another day. But thanks so much! That would give a huge boost!

  • I totally enjoyed stopping in the other evening and seeing how things are coming along!  Your house will be beyond beautiful when you’re done with it!!  I’ve been missing you…me having a newborn and you being quarantined/working on your house sure makes for not seeing much of each other!  Maybe we can catch up on Sat. at the pancake breakfast! 

  • Thanks for the pictures and update on your house. I’m *holding* my breath as I wait for more of the finished product. I always love to see where your creativity and eye for beauty will lead in your home projects! So sorry your girls haven’t been well with all that you’ve been hoping to get done around there, and I *do* wish you LOTS of strength and wisdom in the days ahead. Can hardly wait to see you in just several weeks from now!!

  • You look very beautiful in the middle of the remodeling, and just for the record, winter white looks good on you. :) I will be so jealous when you’re done, but right now…I’m not! We want to do the same thing, yet when I hear about how exhausting it is and see a little of the amount of work….I wonder. Definitely glad the computer recovered for you!!! We’ve had once when we were able to recover and once when we lost everything, but I’m still not careful enough about backing up. :/ BTW, the book will come one of these days. :P

  • @erlinyoder - I KNOW, Linda! This is not the timing I would have chosen for everything! We’ll make up for lost time when we can, right? :)

    @FOREVERLANE - I can’t wait to see you either! Been thinking I wish I could call you, but my phone just isn’t working right for that. So we’ll catch up in person soon. :)

    @twofus_1 - You are too kind. :) Exhausting is right. Sometimes not sure what we got ourselves into, although I know the end product will be worth it. Financially, it’s what we can handle right now, so that’s the main reason… And I’ll be looking forward to that book. :)

  • oh wow! this is so exciting!! thanks for taking the time to put up pics– so we can see too. love it.
    i adore the porch- much gorgeousness potential there. :)
    the fireplace- this is just me- but i would paint it all a glossy, durable white. i see that done so much and it is. so. pretty.
    i adore the red door and the old bell ringer. so cool.
    i know what you mean about magazines. i am a dedicated creative blog follower.
    good luck with it all- we will wait with baited breath as you keep working and will wait patiently for more fun pics. i adore pics of renovations with old homes!!!!!!!
    oh and- thanks for calling me “wise” – i just don`t want you to make the same MISTAKES i did. :)

  • @baileyandme - I’ve thought about a white/off-white for the fireplace too. Like that look a lot… Perhaps we’ll end up doing that, and covering up the top part?? and any creative blogs you follow I’d be most happy to hear about! I lost all my mine in the “favorites” tab when our old computer crashed. :(

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *