December 8, 2009

  • The Other Side of My Family.

     

    Here’s to the Yoders – the other family of mine! :)

    Seems that I often post pictures of our  families in Pennsylvania – probably because it’s “vacation” to us when we’re there and so I take my camera with me everywhere! But this family in the south is very dear to me as well, and I want to say “I love you!” to them too! :)

    These were taken at Thanksgiving, and it’s taken me a while to get them up here because I’ve been learning a new photo editing program. Yup. Taking lessons. From a master, for sure. Marylou has been teaching me. I’m a little hestitant to even say who it is, lest I make her look bad because I’m just learning and don’t know how to do everything yet! But she has been such a huge help to me that it would be a great injustice not to say so! So that said - any editing bloopers are my fault, not hers. :) Thanks, Marylou!!

    This was the year to be together for the Thanksgiving Holiday, and it was a beautiful southern weekend! The day we took these pictures on St. Simons Island was a little chilly – I can see some of the kids’ red noses! But we were able to catch some glorious backlighting for some of the pictures with less people. It was absolutely magical there when the sun was setting!

    For some of you that care, we were at Christ Church for these pictures. This is the same church and area that Eugenia Price wrote about in her many books of the islands of Georgia. A lot of history going on here!

    Without much farther comment, here’s to my Yoder family!

    The five lovely sisters.

    Five Yoder Sisters

    Four handsome brothers.

    Yoder Brothers

    And once again, just because one of them is my husband. :)

    Yoder Brothers 2

    Laurie and Beth.

    Laurie & Bethany
    Beth.

    Beth

    Where it all started… :) LOVE this picture!!

    Papa & Mama Yoder

    Parents with the nine children. And if you think that looks like a lot of people, wait till you see the entire family. :) And we’re just getting started with grandkids!

    Xanga - Yoder Kids

    The entire family. This picture took about 3 hours to edit. In part, because I was new to the editing program, and in part because we had to replace seven heads!! With this many people, you just don’t have one picture that is good – so you combine heads from many different pictures to get one where everyone is looking!

    [uploading trouble...]


    The married children…

    Sonya and Marcus. LOVE this picture of them. They look like newly weds. :)

    Xanga - Marcus & Sonya 

    Rod and Jena.

    Rod & Jena

    Mary Jo and Wendall.

    Wendall & MJ

    Ben and his wife. :)

    Dancing

    Zoe.

    Xanga - Zoe

    And Mariana.

    Xanga - Mariana

    Those two played together so sweetly all weekend! It did my mother heart good to see that, because Zoe rarely has an opportunity to play with another little girl her age! Plus, they’re cousins, so that made it extra-sweet!

    I didn’t get the picture of the grandkids edited yet, so here is the unfinished product. Yeah, not sure how to replace the heads of the wailing children because they were howling on every picture here. Perhaps we’ll just let them wail??

    IMG_0643

    Such a fun weekend together! Lots of games, laughter, a campfire, enjoying being together…

    I think this was my favorite family weekend together with them! Just really good times! :)

    -clarita

     

     

Comments (14)

  • Thanks for posting these, Clarita! It’s fun to see pictures of relatives, even though I barely know most of them :) Great job on the photography and the editing!

  • these are so good, clarita!! it makes me wanna come take editing classes with marylou too!! =) i just have to laugh looking at the yoder family picture with everyone looking so perfect, *everyone* i repeat…=) after you and i smoked our tails off tryin’ to edit those pics in GA, desperate for just ONE good one!! ha ha! can’t wait to see ya’ll next weekend! so excited school will almost be over and i can just HANG OUT with you guys!!!!!!

  • Oh my, these pictures were so much fun to look at.  Made me miss my family.  Did Jana take these?  I love to hear when people embrace their in-laws and love them like their own.  Good for you.

  • Lovely! I love it when stay-at-home momma’s do something ‘new’ like you learning how to edit photos! Keeps us young and our brains ‘fresh’! ( :
    You did a lovely job. What a great family.
    Mj

  • LOVED this post!  MaryJo is so, so precious to me!  And her and Wendall are some of our favorite people to be with!!!  Guess what?  Next week MaryJo and I are taking Josie and Tyler to see “Annie” at the Fulton….all dressed up and everything!! We’re starting them young…..because they’re going to get married you see!!!!

    Will you be around over Christmas?  I’d love to have you over for tea…..or juice boxes!!!! 

    Janelle

  • You did an awesome job on these pictures!!  Cheers to you!!

  • Great pictures! It’s so neat to see the whole family together. Can’t wait to see the picture with the entire family!

  • wow! amazing job Clarita. i too am impressed that you’ve found time to learn something now. go you!!!

  • @singingrachel - Jana took the whole family picture (which I haven’t got up yet) but I took the rest.

    @maryjunemiller - I’m with you with wanting to keep my brain fresh! But wow, it takes a lot more effort now than it once did! :) Ha!

    @JakeandJanelle - I know Mary Jo says the same thing about you! I think the adoration is mutual between you two. :) CRACKS ME UP about Tyler and Josie getting married! :) )) What a cute little couple they’d make! LOVE it that you guys are taking them to the Fulton! We will be around for Christmas, but not sure yet how long… If I see that we have extra time, I’ll let you know! And juice boxes would be fine! :)

  • the editing looks great! I too had to edit our family picture this year and change heads :) People were really good though and I only had to do one head surprisingly and that was with 3 kids 4 and under! I think for some odd reason having a camera on a tripod with a timer always makes our pictures turn out better. Maybe b/c we have enough time to look nice :)

  • thank you dear for posting pictures of them. I didnt know who else was in Ben and Mary Jo’s family before this. I knew the 2 of them and i now know that i know another one-Sonya. or i should say i recognize her and “know” her thru my sister Rachel. She was in service at hillcrest with her and Marcus.  And i also didnt know there were 9 siblings in that family! Sort of like my family-except we have 10. And yes get ready for the family to grow, grow, grow! :) We are almost done with our familys (well Rosie adn i are just starting) and there are 60 of us when we’re all together!! :) 40 grandchildren for my mom and dad–so far. :)

  • I LOVED the post!! Makes me miss all of you all over again!!! Thanks so much for all the hard work that you , Jana, and Marilou put into it!! Can’t wait to see the whole family picture!! Can you tell which heads are changed??? As long as I have my own!! :)   That was one of my fovorite wk-ends that we’ve had with the family too!! But I guess it’s been a long time since we were all together! Thanks for the CD you sent in the mail! But sorry to say…. it had a big crack on the one side!!! :( Would you mind giving one to Mom, or Laurie, for me, before they go to my cousin Christy’s wedding? Thankyou so much!!

    I liked the comments about Josie and Tyler getting married one day!! Oh my!! If only we could choose who our kids marry!! Right???!! But then again….I’d probably be married to some guy named Elmer, or Ennus!! (sorry to all you Elmers and Ennus’!! Your parents should’ve known better!) :) So, I guess we won’t be choosing who our kids marry! At least not exactly! :) Hopefully we’ll have a little say!! Thanks for the sweet comments, Janelle!! You know the feelings are mutual!!

    Miss you, but I’ll get to see you in a few wks!!  Yipee!!

    Love you!! MJ

  • I want a copy of the family Picture of all the yoders together?The Yoders have always been my second family. Makes me miss all of ya’ll like crazy.

  • So beautiful! You and Jana did a fabulous job!! And you had a terrrific family to work with! Love love love the Yoders! : ) So many good memories as kids and youth…..my favorite so far is of Robert and Mary Lois with the kids…And ,of course,MJ and Wendall. I don’t get to see her beautiful face nearly often enough and it makes me sad!! The pic of you and Ben is so neat! You’re very photogenic!   LLoved the post

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *