September 23, 2009

  • The Room of the Little Ladies.

     

    The Little White Baby Room. Or Babies’ Room. I worked on it mostly before the baby came, and just haven’t gotten around to putting pictures up.

    You know, sometimes I’m not sure about posting about projects I do. Sometimes, I think, it can be a little bit like “See what I can do!” like you see in kindergarden: “Look at me, mommy!” And you want comments so you can feel good about yourself. I know. I’ve been there, embarassingly. Don’t get me wrong – comments totally make my day!

    And having projects to work on are my love. That kind of thing is where I am gifted, more than in “churchy” kinds of gifts. I love seeing what I can do with what I have in my hands, hardly spending any money (my husband likes that too!) yet creating something beautiful. And I love to read about what others of you have done and things you’re working on.

    But I guess what I want when I post is to be an encouragement and inspiration, rather than someone who tries to brag on herself. Does that make sense? I want my heart attitude to be right, and then my posts to spring out of that.

    So, with that said, I’ll take you on a little tour of the girlies’ room…

    The whole room is neutral – white and brown. It started that way before Zoe’ was born, and we hadn’t found out what gender she was beforehand. So I started collecting things that were white with a tint of brown. Years down the road this will probably look completely out of date, but for now, I like it! My goal was to redo the room with using mostly things that I already have and/or making new things out of existing material, and not spending much money.

    When you walk down the hall and come to the second door on the right, this is what you’ll find…

    The Room of the Little Ladies.

    IMG_7966

    Ben had brought this panel home from work one day, probably about a year old, thinking it was too cool of an unwanted example from the job to throw away! We stuck it away for a while…  Then when I was working on this room, I came across it, and thought it would be a great place to nail on these little butterly and snail hangers from a garage sale for their bath towels…

    IMG_7969

    The Baby Corner:
    This idea was given to me by my sister-in-law and by my friend – to put the crib in the closet! The room is so small, and to put both the crib and toddler bed and changing table all in one room would have made it feel so crowded. I didn’t know how I was going to arrange it, and was talking with some women about it one day. Such female talk, I know.  Babies, Coupons, Shopping… :) “Put the crib in the closet!” said Sonya. “Put curtains in front of it!” said Linda. And what great ideas they were!

    The crib is still borrowed from Mama Yoder. She so kindly offered it to let us use when Zoe was a baby, and we’re still using it!

    I was looking for a brown/white sheet to use in the crib, and couldn’t find one anywhere. Sooo, I made one. Brown with white polka dots.

    IMG_7982

    Inside the crib:  I made a few pillows, and then splurged and bought a baby down comforter with some birthday money. I had bought the bumper and skirt when Zoe was a baby at Pottery Barn, on the clearance rack for not much at all. The white and brown from it inspired my theme for the room.

    IMG_6247

    I am just in love with down comforters. And the baby-sized one is too cute for words. :) Olivia looks so snuggly and cozy under it!

    IMG_6249

    Behind the crib on the wall: Some ornaments I bought anywhere from 10-50 cents a piece. The frames in the background are picture-less as of yet, because I am having trouble ordering pictures from my computer [ordered three separate times and each time they come back blurred - help anyone??]. But the frames were glossy gold that I spray painted white.

    IMG_7986

    To hold back the white curtain panels: I looked through my box of “stuff” and found these things - they are actually iron outdoor plant holders.

    IMG_6117

    And on the floor, something I was wanting for a long time and was able to use a gift card to cover most of the expense. This sheepskin floats back and forth from the bedroom to the living room and I often use it as a play mat for Olivia.

    IMG_8023

    Difficult to get a good picture of the full effect because the room is so small and my lense not capable… But this is the Bed in the Closet. :)

    The board above the bed reads, “Sugar and Spice and Everything Nice”.

    The panels were made of patterned white sheets that I sewed together and mounted on a  bamboo rod, cut from the backyard.

    IMG_8009

    IMG_7995

    Ben found the little bookshelf at an auction for under $5, I think…

    IMG_6257

    I store Olivia’s blankets in a basket on top of the bookshelf for easy access…

    IMG_7990

    The other side of the room:

    Found these two shadow boxes at Goodwill… The little boots were given by ny sisters for Zoe as a baby.

    IMG_8019

    I made a pillow for the rocking chair to match the curtains and the rest of the brown/white theme in the room.

    IMG_8018

    Pictures above the changing table, Walmart sells these wooden-looking frames (they’re actually plastic) for $3 each.

    IMG_8021

    The rocking chair corner.

    IMG_8017

    I bought this amazing, gorgeous picture, painted by my extremely talented uncle, at my grandmother’s auction a few years ago. It still hasn’t made it into a frame, although that’s the idea in the future. But it’s it just beautiful??

    IMG_8013

    The changing table/dresser – found in the back shed, unwanted by a previous renter. Redone now, and perfect for this room! These pictures are really bugging me on this picture, they sure don’t look straight!

    IMG_5100

    Zoe’s Little White Bed corner, which I’ve elaborated on in another earlier post…

    IMG_8010

    Trunks – for looks (they’re so cute!), so Zoe can climb out of bed, and to use for the girls when we travel.

    IMG_7977

    Little black chair we bought at a garage sale for $2.

    IMG_7975

     

    IMG_8025

    And that’s the room of the Little Ladies!

     

     

     

     

     

Comments (25)

  • LOVE it! Wish i could come see it…:)
    Still working on something for my baby room that I like and that works. Having two toddlers in one room (boy and girl) can be quite the frustrating experience. Right now I’m listening to them “taking naps” what a joke. They just have way too much fun. They stay in their cribs, but talk, and laugh and keep each other awake. And we won’t even go into the decorating of a boy/girl room:) And it’s soon time to move Cossette over there too. I’m getting kind of tired of having her in our room… but I guess we’ll wait awhile.
    Anyway… thanks for posting the pictures. LOVED being able to see what it looks like and having a little peak into your home. You ARE gifted in this area. I’d seriously love if you’d come give me some ideas sometime. Big bumping noise upstairs… better go:)

  • Oh I love your inspiring decorating posts!!!!!  Please don’t stop.  I do know what you mean about not wanting to brag or show off what you can do but inspire others.  I have thought the same on some of my posts.  But please keep doing these, they don’t sound at all “show-off-ish”, I love them!

  • I love looking a peoples ideas and how they come up with such cute stuff on such a low budget! I’m in love with the closet crib :) I really like how you put the old stuff to use like the suitcases…never would have thought of that!

  • A-MA-ZING! such an inspiring little post! do you have before pictures? b/c that could win some kind of a home makeover contest…just gorgeous! you are quite the talented homemaker…love the way you make your home so beautiful, so inviting, so classy, and the way you share it with us! this post makes me anxious to get my little girl into her own room and make some girlie space for her..thanks for a fun read on this workday (applesauce out the ears!) this was as good as a magazine in the mail! :)

  • You are so amazing and inspiring!!!! Some day you need to come to my house and use your gifts there!!! I’d love it!! Love you ideas. so neat.

  • I love love love this room! Who needs interior design school when they possess such natural talent as yourself? (I’m your sister, I’m allowed to flatter.) But… now I walk into my own and it looks dreadfully dull. Do come and help me redecorate, won’t you? By the way, you’re looking very bee-yoo-tee-ful in your profile picture, indeed! :)

  • I love reading posts like this, especially yours. You have such lovely ideas! I love this room, so cute and girly. I love seeing what I can do with what I have, but I usually need someone else’s ideas to help me get started. I love old suitcases, and I’ve been keeping my eye out for some, but I haven’t figured out a good place to use them, except for decoration or photo props.

  • as absolutely gorgeous and amazing as all that stuff is. i still think my nieces top it. [and my sister too of course]
    i really am having the niece blues. please bring them back soon. please?

  • it really is beautiful!!

    I appreciated your words a lot. I know just what you mean. and i just admit I have a pang of envy that washes over me when I see your COMPLETED beautiful projects. I’m a project girl myself! though 3 kids later (and homeschooling and cooking gluten free and 10 million other things) has made that take to a back seat some. my project are rarely worth posting anymore. they’re more functional… like reorganizing the inside of a cupboard or deep cleaning a stinky bathroom. I sometimes do long for the days when I could just do a project purely for fun! for me! get our my inner creativity! but I bet one day I will have those days again. and i will be lonely missing the days of my “youth” when the kids were all small. hehe but good gives us all gifts and tells us when and how to use them. and sometimes it’s not in our timing, if that makes sense. now just isn’t my time I guess ;)

    you have quite a talent! making a home beautiful is a wonderful quality to possess!

  • Your ladies room is lovely.  As much as i love my kids i too get impatient esp. this time of the year when i’m busy trying to can.

  • Clarita, I LOVE the crib nook! It’s so darling. And the towel holder is awesome! I’m especially impressed with the room because I know how hard it is to decorate in a rental house when there’s only so much you can do. I love reading posts like this. I do know what you mean about feeling like a show off…”look what I made,” but I don’t feel that from you. Sometime I want a real tour of your house.

    Your profile picture is pretty–looks very “girl next door.”

  • Oh, i like it, i do. The idea of putting the crib in the closet is quite clever. I put Abbi’s burea in her closet because there was no room elsewhere, but the crib would be anohter option..maybe when I rearrange

    I love when you post projects, it’s inspiring to be. Esp. when you make something beautiful out of nothing

  • Love, love, love the crib in the closet! It’s fantastic!
    The whole room is lovely…and please do keep posting about
    your projects…they’re obviously a blessing to many a lady!

  • No,I don’t think you’re bragging.I’m not a very creative person but I LOVE to see other’s creativity! You did a great job with the girlie’s room! Blessings to you!

  • Love it as ALWAYS!  I’ve had problems with crooked looking frames too and I think it comes from multiple dark frames lined up in close proximity on a light  background.  As far as the blurry pictures,  what setting is your camera on? I am not a pro photographer, sooI hope I this makes sense,  but I believe if you are enlarging a picture, I think it needs to be 2500×1500 (roughly) dpi or greater to avoid graininess.  Thanks for posting your rooms! I would love to post some of my room redesigns if I ever have the time some day!!! It is all I can do to actually get the project COMPLETED these days as also mentioned by someone in one of the comments above :)

  • I love your decorating posts. Will you please come design my house? Hehe. :) But seriously, you are such an inspiration to me!

  • I love your little room for the little ladies!  Very unique and pretty!  I don’t see it as ‘bragging about your abilities’ at all – you obviously have talent & want to share with others and I’m sure are an inspiration to many, including me! 

  • I love to see other people’s creative ideas! :) And your neutral colors reminds me … back when we didn’t know if Olivia would be a boy or girl (even though some of “us” went to great lengths to tease it out of you :) someone said .. “hmmmm. She’s going with neutral colors in her nursery. I bet it’s a boy!” :)

  • very very nice.  yes, your post is inspirational and not braggy.  i love the crib in the closet.  it’s so cozy.  our baby room is very very tiny and it also has mike’s not so tiny desk in it.  i don’t think that i can put the crib in the closet though because i’ll need the closet space for storage.  i’ve been looking for a dresser for our changing table and saw one very similar to yours on craiglist the other day for FREE.  but…when i called about it 1/2 a day after it was posted it was already gone.  i was so dissapointed.  guess i have to just keep looking.

    -evie

  • ok, i just have to comment this yet.  as soon as i left that comment i went on craigslist again to see what’s new and i think that the same dresser has been relisted for 50 bucks.  someone must have decided to make it into a money maker.

  • I love your posts sharing what you’ve done it gives this extremely,” untalented at decorating” mom some ideas.  Don’t stop and don’t feel bad!

  • Wow, will you come decorate my home? Absolutely gorgeous! Great job!!

  • where did u get zoe bed?? i LOVE it.?

  • @lil_deb - I found it at an antique shop around here! Isn’t it just GREAT??

  • this is inspiring me to get my nursery pics on my blog….so many things to post, so little time, right?  it’s a chilly fall day here in lancaster and i’m thinking of you right now.  i hope you are finding joy in the little things today.  His grace is enough….

    j.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *