March 26, 2008

  • The Big Pink Flower Hat… and other things

     

    When I was in Pennsylvania the last time, I went into a little baby botique and saw the most adorable little hat ever. It was white with a big pink flower. I was absolutely smitten. I froze when I saw the price: $20.00 for something Zoe would only be able to wear a few more weeks. It took all of my willpower to put it back on the shelf. (And might I add that was not the only expensive thing in the store: little shirts were $40, shoes $50, just ridiculous.)

    Then my sister Claudia and I were shopping at the mall and what do you know but I find a big pink flower! And on a clearance rack at that, for one single dollar. I bought it immediately. But I had no white hat. Big dilemna. I thought and thought and finally remembered a little pink hat that a cousin had given me. I tried the two together, and fell in love…

    My husband thought the flower was waaaaayyyyy too big, and was rather embaressed about her “new” hat. Oh, but the first time I went to Wally World with the Big Pink Flower Hat, I had multitudes of women stop and comment about her hat. I actually had a pregnant woman (noticeably pregnant, I might add) literally running down one of the aisles after me, wondering where I got the darling hat! So, after that shining report on the Big Pink Flower Hat, Ben is now fine with me wearing it on Zoe.

    And – the Big Pink Flower Hat itself…

    IMG_1449 IMG_1473 IMG_1472 IMG_1447

    IMG_1477
    Her eyelashes on this picture and the next one are too cute…

     IMG_1493

    //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    And now, my fetish with old colored chairs…

    IMG_1517
    in the garage (which is where everyone comes in down here in the south). This was was bought for $5 at a little antique store.

    IMG_1518
    the back patio, with the newly planted flowers. And this one was found in the shed on our rental property – left here by previous renters. :) Can you say “free!”

    /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    As I write these things, I am constantly reminded of the gift of life – physical life, yes, but also eternal Life. I was sobered and extremely heartbroken this morning to hear from one of my best friends – her father was in a bad accident last night and died today. But even sadder than that, as far as the family knows, he was not right with God. I’ve had family members that have died, but there has always been the hope of eternal life and knowing that I will see them again one day. And that brings so much comfort in the midst of the pain. But to know your own father rejected God?? It’s the worst grief possible…

    So I have an unexpected trip to Ohio this weekend for a tragic funeral. I want to be there for my friend, but my heart breaks because I don’t know how to comfort in such a nightmare situation… Please say a prayer for the Miller family…

    May you truly LIVE today!

     

Comments (18)

  • wow! that’s awesome! (i’m glad you found the pink hat and flower!:)
    are you coming up here this weekend for the funeral?

  • The second picture is simply adorable!!!

  • seriously girl u have a touch with making simple things beautiful!!! i love hat!! and the red chair…stunning!! have a great wk

  • Aww the pictures of Zoe are so adorable!!!

  • The hat is adorable and so is the little girl wearing it!  I’m sad to hear about your weekend plans and hope some good can come out of the situation.

  • you are quite the bargain hunter . . . and I always love the results of what you “pull together”. sorry to hear about this death. may the Lord bless you with His Spirit to comfort the hurting–even in a situation like this.

  • ah, i WILL be praying for you as you make your trip. blessings!

  • Wow , Clarita – i will be praying for you as you go to the funeral that the Spirit will lead you and show you things to say and do that would minister to the grieving family…..have a safe trip.

     -ginny

  • oh! oh! oh! i am smiling in absolute rapture over the sheer beauty and chubby-cheek-kissable-ness of my favorite niece. it really is too darling for words. i declare you’re the most creative mommy i ever did see. i’m sitting here in the computer lab, ooh and ahhing and sounding quite like the cheesy adoring sister/aunt i am… and people are giggling at me. giggling, i say! they just don’t understand, do they? *shakes head sadly*

    i miss you. a lot.
    i love you more.

  • oohlala!
    isn`t it just something– that when you are creative and buy the cheaper thing you created yourself it makes it even MORE stunning!! there is so much character, not to mention beauty in that little hat!!
    and zoe makes it even cuter… :)
    my sister would go nuts for your colored chairs. i love `em too but it`s kinda “her thing”– if you know what i mean.

  • yes i love the hat. it is adorable.

  • The hat (and baby) is adorable! Hey…. just maybe you ought to make some of those to sell. If you got lots of compliments at Wally world just maybe you could sell those and other pretties at one of the local children’s clothing stores. :) (don’t feel like you need to send me a commission or anything for the idea) :)

    So sorry to hear about your friend’s father. Crysta mentioned something about it last night. She knows the family too. (I’m assuming it’s the same family.) Have a safe trip.

  • The hat is adorable!! You are so creative!

  • your daughter is so beautiful!!! The hat is adorable!!!!
    And I hope I see you sometime this weekend since you’ll be here in “my” state!
    I’ll prob be at the funeral or one of the viewing…not sure which yet.
    loves friend!

  • Adorable hat. I love your little ideas you come up with. I also loved the mobile you made for Zoe’s room.I was out the other night with Melvin at ya’lls little house watching him landscape some on your yard. Ben toured me through the house, it’s very cute. Hope ya’ll get it all completed and sold soon.Can’t wait to see you again.

  • what a little darling! oh, and nice chairs. i have a thing for antique furniture. i especially like the red one.

  • You really should visit more often…..think you brought a little southern warmth in your suitcase.   Good to see you and Zoe again…..

  • Me too.  I’m missing you around here!  But I hope you’re having a lovely time!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *