October 23, 2007

  • Of Favorite Quotes, Husband’s Lunches, Restaurants and Little Babies

    My Favorite Quote of the Day, gotten from a wrapper at my favorite coffee shop the other week:

     ”Starbucks Coffee
            flavors my senses
                 
    sweetens my disposition
                           stirs my imagination
                                  nourishes my dreams.

      Ahhhhh… I couldn’t have said it better myself!

    //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    My husband’s lunches, of which (sadly) have been rather neglected of late. I didn’t realize until yesterday just *how* neglected until he came to me…

    husband: “What did you mean for me to take in my lunch today?”
    me: “Just the stuff I had put on the top shelf of the frig, why?”
    husband: [just looked at me, with a Wondering-sort-of-look on his face]
    me: [in a near panic] “Why, what did I put in your lunch???” [completely forgetting]
    husband: “A small sweet potato, a 4 oz. yogurt…”
    me: “…and a container full of carrots!!!!! I’m sorry! What a pathetic lunch!! [insert here that I had been up way late Sunday night preparing for company the next evening, knowing I'd be in a tizzy Monday if I didn't at least do a little preparation. I somehow remembered to get some lunch together for him at the midnight tide but to the best of my recollection I was going to add more...] You must be about to starve, aren’t you??”
    husband: “Well, after the 59th carrot I was quite satisfied…”
    After which we both burst into gails of laughter and I readily promised that his lunch the next day would be far exceeding that of the previous day. Poor husband.

    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    Restaurants and Little Babies don’t mix. At least, restaurants and our little baby don’t mix. Saturday night Ben and I decided that it was due a Date Night, at which we were both prefectly delighted, since it had been quite a while since that Delightful Event had occurred, with a small child and all. Ben wanted to do some shopping for supplies that he needed, and because both the stores and the restuarant that we wanted to go to were an hour away, we decided against getting a babysitter for Zoe. She will take a bottle at times, and other times, well, it’s the Greatest Disturbance Ever Come Upon Her. So, little dolly went with us.

    All was well through shopping, in and out of the vehicle several times, and parking-lot feedings (in the backseat of the car, of course, how dare you think otherwise). She ate just before we went into the Delightful Restaurant, a.k.a. The Bonefish Grill, and was a perfect cherub the first few minutes, causing the hostesses and other restaurant-goers alike to come and coo over her. The suddenly the voice box opened and a series of Terrified Wails broke out. Visions of a Peaceful Family and a Romantic Date rapidly fled, and of course since babies are definitely not allowed to scream in restaurants, or else the same people who were cooing will now be glaring, Ben and I took turns walking her… outside [where she was perfectly calm]. And as the other [not walking her] ate the meal inside… alone. So much for Sleeping Beauty in the carseat like some babies I hear about. :)

    Seriously though, she seems positively terrified when she’s around larger groups of people, this wasn’t the first time it happened. I think it’s too overwhelming for her, the combination of unknown people plus noise with silverware and chinking glasses…

    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    And now, for some [stolen] pictures [off Ervina's site] of the Lovely Weekend when my sisters were down to visit us!!! The Sisterhood. There is nothing better.

    IMG_5030 IMG_5019 IMG_5047

    IMG_5006

               IMG_4905           zoe

    IMG_5032
    would you look at the profoundly intelligent look in my baby’s eye…

       IMG_4953 IMG_4934 my_favorite_family

    precious_love
    My Little Schnuckums
    [just as a side note, I no longer wear her headbands up so high, as someone informed me it looks like the "martial arts."]

     sisters
    Two of my favorite people in the whole entire world…

        mommy_and_daughter  cheesy_sisters  big_brother

    my_favorite_girls

    no, we did not bribe her for this reaction :) I love, love, love it…

     

    /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

    And now, for some more [stolen] pictures, taken by none other than my Charming Sister Jana, of my Lovely Sister Ervina.  Ahhhh, such beauty….



    Oh ye men, beware, she has fearful older sisters. :)

     

     

Comments (21)

  • heehee…you’re a funny one. i’m gonna have to start copywriting all my pics soon…lol! :) :) thanks for the directions today, (grin) it was lovely chatting with you once again. i think i needed that. i think i feel like a normal human again!…;) hope you can run into some starbucks’ coffee again, so your imaginations don’t forget to stir, & your dreams keep being nourished…especially this stage of life! love you so much, so glad you’re my sista. oh, & don’t forget to have fun this weekend!! snifffff…

  • wow! i can’t believe how cute your little girl is getting… and how much she has grown up…amazing!

  • you silly, funny, lady. :) What funny stories you tell. Thanks for the call today, although i will have a quite sad weekend all by my lonesome, i shall think of you always.

  • so good to hear of your life with hubby, dolly, and all other adventures you are blessed with!!! sounds like the typical firstborn dolly- crowds aren’t on their list of favorites – at least Cherie’s sure wasn’t, and I’ve heard of others too. Zoe’s normal!!and SO charming,and cute!!! Did you get my message on xanga about the barkman shindig? i used the message thingy. let me know….love you all.

  • I was smiling the whole way through…The lunch sounded exactly like soemthing I would do.  And the restaurant, so sorry.  It’s especially not fun when you so desperately want a special time.  The pictures are darling.  Z’s expressin on the one where you guys are kissing her is truely priceless!  And the one where you’re holding her makes me wonder if she’s in the middle of a deep discussion. ;)  

  • i was laughing out loud as i read your stories . . . esp about the lunch. So sorry to hear that the tips on “nice dates out” haven’t seemed to work too well for Zoe yet. =) i’ll be calling you soon to chat . . .

  • oh! and i love the picture where zoe is looking surprised or panicked or what??? about her mommy and three aunties kissing her. ADORABLE!

  • Aw, I love your pictures!!!! I love the story about Ben’s lunch too, really funny.

    Yes, life has been changing for me, but I love it.  I remember talking with you at the pool…things were developing then already, but only in our prayers. *smile*  Of course there is much more to be said, but I will stop.

    Happy mothering and wifering (uh, I should probably stop making up words)!

  • goodness, such Clever Stories you do have. you’re probably the Funniest Xanga Poster ever. a very “profoundly intelligent” baby you have to be sure. takes after her Daddy’s Wit and her Mommy’s Brilliance no doubt. :]

    thank you thank you thank you for all the e-mails and phone conversations that make my days all Sunny and Happy and Beautiful. *sigh* how i do love you, my “fearful eldest sister.” :]

    tomorrow, tomorrow! it’s only a day away! *big grins*

  • What you said about packing your husbands lunch brought back painful(; not really reminders of doing almost the same thing to my poor husband, and once I ran his coffee through and forgot to put coffee grinds in the filter.  So all he had to go to work on was hot water   I blame it on a mommy brain.  Sisters are the best and I’m going to see mine tomorrow! Yippee!!

  • Darling pictures!! Your little girl is growing so quickly and is quite adorable.  Good post!!!

  • wahhh! we miss you guys!! i’m sitting here eating life cereal with peanut butter, & illy coffee from italy…ahhh! the life!! :) before our embark to the lovely b&n! such a cozy, rainy, autumn day…you sure ya’ll don’t wanna move back north with the fam??!! :)

  • Clarita–it is 10:30PM. I am exhausted from a week of nursing, nursing and more nursing, and yet I’m glad i opened my email today to read your wonderful, fun-filled stories! ;) I had a chuckle, i must say! Just what i needed…
    BTW has anyone told you Your baby is precious–there are no words!
    Xo…

  • i can so feel for you about the experience eating out with your baby! ours definitely isn’t sleeping beauty either.  When he was about Zoe’s age we went to Texas Roadhouse and it was awful!  Finally I walked outside with Adam and  i fed him and he seemed fine but every time i walked inside he started crying! By the time i came back in Aaron was done eating.  Then i was gonna eat and Aaron thought he had him calmed down when he started screaming again.  Finally i said let’s get my food “to go”!!! :)   It will get better!  Adam loves noise and people now!! The more people the better and the louder the better!! :)

  • Hey Thanks. Good to hear from you. That fine that you couldnt make it. You can call me oneday this week and i could come over or you could come over something will work. Just call me when it works for you. My number is 256-1476.

  • I love her expression where you all are kissing her! Priceless.

    Your husband’s lunch sounds like something I would do.:)

  • Zoe is so adorable! I’m sure you are having fun being a mom, however I know as well as you that it has it’s not so good moments. They are infants for what seems later to be such a short time in life. Good to see you on xanga. -Hannah

  • you make me smile!!!

  • Ya’ll have one adorable little girl!!!!

  • can’t seem to get a hold of you via phone right now, so thot I’d say hi on here again. =) Dietrich *loved* the wave from Zoe . . . or was that his *mom* that thot it was so cute?? anyway, we loved the snail mail! you are so encouraging!!

  • Cute and lovely pictures!! You look so very familiar to me?? We lived in Tryon, NC, till 3 months ago— we moved to Colorado.

    My baby’s name is Zoe Jazmyn : ) She is 16 months old…. and the youngest of our 5 kids : ) Looks like your Zoe is your first?? She is a doll!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *