September 17, 2007

  • Baby Bouncers… and other such things

     

    Well, we returned last night from a lovely weekend at the ocean. St. George Island, off the Florida panhandle, reminded me of Outer Banks or an area similar to that. Lots of ocean, scrubby bushes, sea breeze, areas marked off where sea turtles laid their eggs, huge houses… The house where we stayed was enormous. We were able to be there by the graces of a friend who house-sits it occasionally. I was exclaiming about the size as we entered, and the friend said, “Yes, well, it does have 9 bathrooms. No, wait [she counted mentally], I guess it has only 8.” 4 stories, huge commercial kitchen, built right by the ocean. Had our own private beach front, where we ladies spent some time while the guys were golfing. The only sad thing was that we only had one full day there, it seemed very short. But a beautiful weekend indeed!

    Baby bouncers…  If you moms, babysitters, and all other people who have had experience with bouncers of any kind could give me some advice, I’d be greatly obliged to you. I’ve had 2 so far… and returned them both. One was a spider theme, and I wasn’t too thrilled about my baby girl gurgling up at the little creepies while “The Itsy Bitsy Spider” serenaded her. So that was returned. Next was a rainforest theme, with little monkeys and treefrogs and such. Dolly cooed up at Curious George the Monkey, she seemed quite delighted to be spending time with him. But the toybar was down at her toes, there was no way she could reach it with her hands. Plus, I read reviews about that particular one from target.com and people said the little animals that moved up and down were always getting stuck. So that one is being returned too.

    Basically, I just want a plain and simple bouncer, one that doesn’t scream “BABY ROOM” and that isn’t an infant-style TV set. I saw the Baby Bjorn but those are disturbingly expensive, and they’re the simplest of all. I checked ebay, overstock, amazon… I didn’t know a bouncer would be so complicated! But now that Zoe is getting more alert I need somewhere to put her when I’m working, where she can still look around. She doesn’t like lying down at all. So, if I could get any tips from you all, please don’t hesitate to let me know!!

    One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek, inquire for, and insistently require: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord [in His presence] all the days of my life; to behold and gaze upon the beauty, the sweet attractiveness and delightful loveliness of the Lord, and to meditate, consider, and inquire in His temple…” Ps. 27:4

     

Comments (7)

  • Have you checked out Wal-Mart?! :)   I got one there about 2yrs. ago for our son. It is prettly basic (and was not that expensive) and the toy bar is where it’s supposed to be – at arms length and at eye level. :)   It also had a viberater/singing thing too.  He loved it and spent alot of time in it and the little guy I used to babysit for loved it so well his mom went and bought one for at their home.  I don’t have a name for it, it had a wire frame that had two reclining postitions.  I hope this helps you out and who knows they probably don’t carry it anymore.  Hope you can find one she likes.

  • Cadence was never much of a bouncy seat baby. honestly i think most of it’s use came when i needed somewhere to plop her when i showered.
    as she got a little older she liked her bouncy seat a little more, and learned to kick the hanging fishies to make the music play. they outgrow them so quickly, so definitely don’t feel the need to invest in a high dollar one. good luck. :]

  • um Jason didn’t like his seat/vibrator at ALL! it drove him CRAZY! i don’t know where it came from though since it was a gift. when he was old enough to  sit in a bouncer (about four months) and could play with the toys, and turn around he LOVED that. that bouncer we got for $40 at Wal-Mart and it was perfect for him.

  • The Ocean Wonders one is a good one.  It has a soothing bubbling thing that it does and I’ve seen a number of babies really like it.  Now that I said that, I’m not sure you can get them any more.  I’ve seen a lot of them at baby consignment storess (your best friend, from now on. =) ).  Please tell me why they think babies need to hear LOUD, screechy music?  Do be sure to get one w/ a volume control.  Mom has one that must be about ten years old.  The funny thing is that all our babies like it better than their own because the toys are right where they can easily reach them.  I wonder why they don’t make them like that anymore?  Prob. because then the toys could potentially hit the babies face which could reslut in a lawsuit.  ho hum..

  • in less than 48 hours we’ll be in the air!
    cannot wait for our sisterhood reunion. :]
    so excited i am…

  • Missed seeing you this weekend! How did you like the seminar? We definately need to do lunch again. I’m available almost every day so just call me sometime when you’re ready to go! :)

  • Our bouncy seat was given to us. I think they got that one at walmart.  It worked great.  Adam liked it for the most part-he liked his swing alittle better but the bouncy seat was perfect for when i was fixin supper and he wanted to be right with me.  I just set in on the counter and he was content for a while.  ours has a toy bar but for the most part i would just take it off. he didn’t really play with the toys and now he does but he’s too big for that seat.  good luck!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *