August 23, 2007

  • SLEEPLESS NIGHTS…

     

     

    //My Sweet Little Love//
    who has discovered she loves being held…

    thailand 319

    //Proud Grandparents again//

    thailand 294

     

    Well, this morning *big yawn* I slept in late because dear Zoe kept me up at all hours of the night. I’m not sure what statement she was trying to make, but poor mama is exhausted. She woke up every 1-3 hours, sometimes to eat, sometimes just to look around at the big, dark, snoring world. But she didn’t want to lay in her crib when she was looking around at the big, dark, snoring world. Oh no. She wanted to be held. Can’t say I blame her for wanting to be in the cozy bed with mama and daddy, but still… So at the wee hour of 4:35 -because the baby was wide awake – I went out into the kitchen, trying not to be as cross-eyed as Zoe used to be, and packed Ben’s lunch and got the coffee ready to brew at 5:50am. Then I went back to bed. I tried to sleep in this morning, but Cupcake was wide awake again just after Ben left for school. I was so tired I could hardly take care of her, and quite disheartened that Ben was no longer at home to keep her company. So, at the beautiful hour of _____ :) , when Zoe decided to wake up yet another time, I finally drug myself out of bed and started my day. Or, should I say, continued it… It began at a rather early hour…

    So there you have it – a mama’s day [and night] in a nutshell. Only wish the sleepless nights would feel like a nutshell instead of a bombshell. I don’t do so well on little sleep. But then she’ll look around with her big blue eyes, her head just bobbing away, and I can’t help but giggle and kiss her chubby cheeks. :) I’d feel like a million bucks if I’d have a full night of sleep, but I’ll take my sweet little baby over a full night of sleep any day!!

    thailand 332

    //because I stole some pictures off of jana’s site, i thought i should honor her with a picture//

    thailand 296

    I’ve been talking German to the baby, which is what I grew up on. I’m *ahem* a little more rusty than I’d like to admit. Sometimes my sentences end in English because I can’t remember the German words. Ben said last night that poor Zoe is all confused – we spoke English to her the whole time she was in the womb, but as soon as she comes out we speak this foreign language that she’s never heard. Ah well, she’ll soon learn. And then she might be bilingual.

    IMG_3612

    //the same with ervina… such graciously generous sisters I have//

    cuddling

    //last but certainly not least, my other sister//

     

     

Comments (24)

  • lol…those pics do look familiar! =) was so good talking with you on the phone this afternoon, ahem, even though you had just awoke! (noticed i said afternoon! i was gracious enough to spare you the hour!! ;) ;) brings back memories of co…wish so bad i could be there with you! maybe when i grow up & get rich, i can buy a plane ticket to ga! woo-hoo! hope you get some sleep in the near future!xoxoxoxo

  • sooooo cute!!!!-love the pics. i especially love the one with you  laughing and holding her.  sooo sweet! isn’t it fun?–well most of the times! :) night time is so not fun! Adam does not sleep good at night! about 4 weeks ago he started only waking up once and then waking up at 7. but the last week or 2 are right back to normal–every 3-4 hours.at least it’s not 2-3 anymore. oh well they’re only little once is what i have to remind myself over and over again! :)

    i remember Aaron and Ben playing football together. you and i were actually at a football game together one time when ya’ll were still dating.-it was in GA. would love to see you again and your sweet baby!!! :) have a good rest of the week and good luck with the stayin up at night stuff!!! esther 

  • Clarita – i was thrilled with your visit and am really excited about having your little family back in Ga. again! Look forward to the “end of summer” cook-out, hopefully we’ll get it planned before too long :)

     Love and sweet dreams

       -ginny

  • loved seeing the pictures! you’ll have to keep us updated so we can see her grow! and… good luck with getting caught up on your sleep. i’m thinking that being sleep deprived is just a part of motherhood. JUST when jason starts sleeping through the night he gets and ear infection or some other something that keeps him up… so i’m learning to give up my “right” to sleep… but it sure it HARD! nap times are awesome. :) anyway… miss you!

  • Hey! I read something today that I liked. “In the life of a mother the days are long, but the years are short”! I can see how true that is with Jason already being seven and a half months. Some days (the sleep deprived ones esp) seem really long… but the months and I expect the years, fly by so quickly and your little person grows up so much faster then you ever thought possible!:) Anyway… just thought of you when I read it. Hope you’re doing well.

  • How well I remember those nights. Jenson did pretty good,but for whatever reason their were some nights he did not want to sleep. I still remember how good that first stretch of 4 whole hours of sleep felt and then it slowly increased to a whole night.I felt like I lived in the lap of luxery when that happened. So be encouraged even though it feels like you’ll never feel rested  again, you will I promise I think…Get some rest don’t feel bad about sleeping in. You need to, in order to survive those first months…

  • Oh yeah….got to say I’m hooked….only something important can keep my attention that long…..miss you two like crazy….uh…..oh ya miss you three….taking me a while to get used to that…….I think she’s already grown since I’ve seen her last….cheers

  • so i must say how i love our conversations, dearest…
    even if i’m not the biggest telephone fan in the world, talking to you about all sorts of lovely little random things makes my day happy. i miss you more than you would believe and georgia seems oh so far away right now… but september is coming and with it, wonderful thoughts of sisters reunited. :]
    i love you so much!

  • I can identify with your sleepless nights – makes you feel terrible. It’ll be over soon!

  • Hey Clarita! Yeah, I got a “xanga site” one time just to get on a friend’s site who lives in Mongolia and who couldn’t be contacted any other way. So if you’re disappointed that there’s really nothing on it, you can go to http://www.ehstpictures.blogspot.com, a site we set up for posting pictures for my parents in Romania to keep up with our lives! Cute pics of Zoe; come visit again– she’s only going to get cuter!

  • Hiya! About Monday …. my planning self got exhaustified so we are going to wait and wing it. If someone wants to plan something I’ll be more than happy to participate. :)  I talked to Kenneth and we’ll see on Sunday what’s going on. If nothing’s been planned by then we’ll get a small-scale cookout together.

    I love the pics on top!! So precious!!

  • You have a Beautiful(!!!!) daughter–and I love her name.  Amazing photos in your header.

  • Hey Clarita!  Yes, that picture is of my dad & I. =)  It’s one of my favorites.  Such cute pictures of your little Zoe girl. (I can’t help but call her that)  I hope you get some rest during the night soon and that your days are relaxing.  I have 44 more days in Georgia. =)  And yes, I do believe that I’ve seen ALL Jesup has to offer. haha.  I hope you have a wonderful week!

                         jamie

  • oh, she`s so pretty! i love her name too, btw.
    baby girls are so fun it`s scary! :)

  • and we have our tickets to georgia!
    september 20-24. i am oh so incredibly excited.
    i can’t wait to see you and your handsome husband and dearest child.
    so proud i am to be related to such a family. :]
    i love you!

  • Hi Clarita.  I love your posts especially your last one.  Had me laughing out loud.  You do have a beautiful daughter…. and those “little sleep” nights will eventually pass.  Somehow moms’ are made to handle all the changes these little bundles bring into our lives.  Happy Mothering!

  • Aw…the pictures are so sweet, what a beautiful baby!  It sounds like you and Ruth are enjoying your new motherly lives. ;)   I love love love watching–getting lots of education! :)

    hugz and luvz

  • hiking Pikes Peak was the highlight of my trip, hands down no questions asked, the best part. there’s just no way to describe the beauty and how God meets you on the mountain, and you know exactly what i mean! something you might find amusing is that “Gene” (New Horizon prankster, also Duanes cousin) he hiked up the mountain with us, talk about a FUN guy!considering the dating couple that ignores all (i didn’t say that) and the fact that Holli sprained her foot and couldn’t hike with us, i would have been a little bored, definitely glad he was there.

    your daughter is absolutely darling, cheers!

  • i don’t blame you-not wanting to let her cry!! it’s not fun but it definitely is worth it!!!!!!! but her only waking up once a night is not bad at all-i could’ve handled that too.  He was waking up twice. but i do recommend that you try it-wish we would’ve sooner –good luck! :)

  • (had a loooong comment written and lost it!) –i didn’t know for sure that he wasn’t hungry but just went by what people had been telling me-(once they’re 10 lbs. they don’t need to eat during night).  But i  do think he really wasn’t hungry and that it’s just a habit for them to wake up and think they need to eat. they can live off their fat til the morn! :)   i would definitely go ahead and try it-i know it’s not fun but it DOES NOT hurt them to cry!!!!!!!!

    don’t know how Adam’s gonna sleep tonite-were camping over the weekend and he got all messed up! the first night when he woke up i was determined i wasn’t gonna feed him cuz i didn’t wanna have to come home and start all over.  but after about an hour of crying off and on, i gave in and feed him.  both nights down there he woke up twice and i had to feed him. :(    hopefully it’ll only take a night or so to get him back to normal BUT……

    I’m flyin home to Lanc. on Saturday and staying for the week.-he’ll probably get all mixed up again! oh well.  Bottom line: babies are a lot of work, but they are soooooooo worth it!!

  • Your baby is soo beautiful!  My best friend had a baby a little over a year ago and they named her Zoe Jasmine.  There is just nothing quite like having your own little newborn baby, and you’ve captured some beautiful pictures of yours!  Congratulations to you and Ben!  ~ Cindy

  • i saw your mama the other day and asked about your baby.  That must be so tough to be so far from her… words fail me!  My baby is 13 months old and I still feed him once or twice at night.  Someone told me to cherish this time as it goes by SO fast.  So I just snuggle up w/ him and dwell on the wonder of bonding w/ this child.  I love it!  not that I don’t get tired sometimes… 

  • i don’t know you, but wanted to wish you “happy mothering”.  someone reminded me one time that losing sleep at night should make us mama’s long for heaven and eternal rest…and what mercy there is for the sleep-deprived! :)   be encouraged….

  • I love your baby’s name. She’s a cutie. Someday I want a little girl too!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *