August 8, 2007

  • Not photogenic…

     

     

    I sure was excited about the photo shoot today by Simple Frames, and I do hope Shannon was able to get a few good ones [bless your heart, Shannon!!] :) But my little daughter isn’t very photogenic at this stage at all, I discovered quite quickly. I thought she’d be fine, but she decided she wanted to eat the whole time instead of taking pictures, and she didn’t like the positions we put her in. It was blitzing hot outside and we were all dripping sweat at 10am. Zoe also decided to pee and poop on me *twice* during the photo session. Poor little thing is just tuckered out now, is sleeping all afternoon after being awake all morning. :) I think we’ll wait a little while before more we try more photography…

     Quite a few people have asked us how/why we chose the name Zoe (prounounced with a long o and a long e sound). I’ll try to explain. I first read it in a book written in the late 1800′s, so it’s an old name that’s now becoming more heard of now again. Ever since then I’ve loved the name Zoe and thought I want a daughter by that name one day. But when we discovered I was pregnant, it took a Southern husband and a Northern wife quite a bit of time to both agree on a name. :) We were both wanting a name full of meaning, and in the end Ben was the one who really wanted Zoe for his little girl. Zoe comes from a Greek word in the New Testament that describes spirit and soul life, as opposed to physical life. In John 1 where it speaks of Jesus coming to earth, the literal interpretation is, “In Him was zoe, and the zoe was the light of men.” Together with her middle name, her name means, “Abundant life of grace.” So, not sure if that makes sense to everyone or not. I tried. :)

    Busy week ahead of us… We’re leaving next Wednesday to head back down to the good ol’ South. I can hardly believe this summer has flown by so quickly, and it’s time to go back after being gone a little over 2 months. We’re ready though – ready to be settled back in our own home, see all our friends down there, be back in the church… It’s been a delightful summer up here with my family and friends, I wouldn’t trade it for the world, but we’re feeling ready to be settled into a bit of a “normal” again. I’m not sure how the 12-hour road trip is going to go with a baby not even 3 weeks old, but we’ll see how it goes and maybe stop for the night if Zoe gets fussy. Soooo, I’ll see all of you Jesupians next week!! I’m excited!

    Now let me strut a bit…  And be jealous, be very jealous.  :)

    Zoe's birth 004
    Zoe Grace, a few hours after birth.
    All 8 pounds, 6 ounces of her. I couldn’t believe I had a baby that big!!

    YoderC7-R1-038-17A
    contemplating this whole mother thing

    YoderC7-R1-010-3A
    Our little family when Zoe was 2 days old… I must add, Ben is quite the proud daddy.

    Zoe's birth 018
    Two of the aunts, who both declare themselves the godmothers, and who helped me so wondrously the first 10 days after Zoe was born.

    YoderC7-R1-050-23A
    My dad, with his very first grandbaby (sorry, dad, this isn’t the best angle of you)

    YoderC7-R1-008-2A
    Four generations
    I feel very fortunate to have this picture. This is the only grandmother either Ben and I have living. Very special…

     

    And now I must be off to change a poopie diaper. :)

     

     

     

Comments (10)

  • Great pictures! Can’t wait to see y’all!! I enjoyed the explanation of the names. Ben’s sisters were nearly horrified when Mr. Melvin pronounced her name as “Zoy” during the church announcements.

    The grapes are nearing the ripened stage. There aren’t very many there due to the dry spring.

  • Aww.. how precious! You are simply glowing and Ben looks so proud! Zoe is lucky to have parents like you. I can’t necessarily say I am jealous, since I think my babies are the cutest. Sorry!! She is adorable, tho. Hope moving goes well for you.

  • Beautiful.  Both mother and daughter. 

  • awww so cutesy…and you look great!!
    nevr knew Zoe meant that either…cutesy!!

  • that’s my sis…with a baby??!! congratz dear!! so proud of you…i still can’t believe it…it still hasn’t sunk in that clarita yoder had a baby! can’t WAIT to see her!! i already fell in love with her…don’t worry! & it feels like i’m planets apart from ya’ll…miss you and so excited to see you again. thanks for the comment, just made my day! ;) getting to bed at a crazy hour cuz we were just having way too much fun shopping tonight! ;0

    con amor-jan

    ps: you’re actually selling your car?? wasn’t I the one who gave you the idea?? lol!! only if you can gaurantee no break-downs for at least ONE week straight!! wow…might have to ‘fast n yarp’ about it! grin! :)

  • she’s darling Clarita!  You look so happy!  Being a mama is so much fun!

  • I think your name is cute. I have a friend who named her girl, Zoey. Beauiful pictures! I’m sure you will make a wonderful mom.

  • I’ll miss you two….and I’ve loved watching Ben grow into this whole Dad thing…We’ve had some interesting conversations about the thing…..I like the name…Cloe/Zoe…:)

  • I love this pictures of your little girl!!! she is a cutie and you two will be awesome parents!

  • great pics Zoe is soo cute, we are so happy for you guys and we pray your trip goes well (Hey that was us @ Darin and Shirleen’s wedding). It can be done… God Bless
    Lee, Mary,& Kyle

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *