March 14, 2005

  • Back in to xanga land!! Hey to all my long-lost blog friends.


    Just returned yesterday from a little over 2 weeks in the continent of Africa. My Ben, my sister Jan, and a team of 12 people flew over.  Africa was on my dream list of places to go before I get married.   I actually wanted to visit the 6 major continents, and still have Australia to visitt before the wedding. Ummm, that’s dreaming big, but like Bloody Mary says in the movie, “You gotta have a dream. If you don’t have a dream, how’re you gonna make a dream come true?” So, I dream, if only in my dreams.


    Kenya, Africa, was amazing. The mixture of poverty, beauty, and people is unforgettable. I have never seen poverty like I saw on this trip, not in any of the other countries I’ve visited, but never have I seen such gratefulness from the people that live there. They have so little, the average person makes the equililent to  $2-3 US a day, yet they are so proud of their country and of what they do have. Such a challenge. The people are wonderful – I fell in love with them and made some good friends even in the short time we were there.


    One huge thing for me was the way the Christians identify themselves. If I met a Christian over there, he would introduce himself and say, “My name is Kefa, and I am a Christian.” Thinking about it further, I realized that being a Christian was their very identity. Here in the US we’ll introduce ourselves and say our names and then tell the person what our occupation is, etc. When do I say that I am a Christian on a first-time introduction?? If my first identify in my Jesus?


    Kenya, Africa was a trip that will take time for me to process. Time for my heart to catch up with the things that I saw and experienced. Ben and I sang a few songs each evening at the open air crusades, and we all helped at a work project for the church during the day.


    I’m happy to be at home now, jet lag hasn’t been an issue because I’ve been so busy since I’m home.  No time to be tired.


    Wedding plans are coming!!!!! I feel like a very very blessed woman.

Comments (10)

  • hey clarita! it was a very fun surprise to see you tonight. lol! some things are just TOO predictable. welcome home. i love you!

  • hello, darling! so glad you accomplished a dream….and that you’re home again safely :]
    saw your little sisters over the quiz retreat, and it made me miss you!
    love you much.

    xoxo.

  • Hey wait a minute-we weren’t the long lost ones.
    So good to have you back, hon! And I’m very excited about your wedding too-for you of course! And I might hitch a ride up…if I’m invited….who knows?

  • aww babes it sounds like a terrific trip! sad i’ll be like the last one to hear about it. can’t wait to get home and talk!!!!

    florida is beautiful, absolutely awesome. if it weren’t for you guys, i’d never come home. consider yourself highly special.

    and can’t wait to see ben and his fam this weekend… ahhhhh! i love you!

  • chloe!!!!!!!!!!!!!     so glad you are back..even though we arn’t!

      i really miss u, wanna hear allll about your trip!

       *muah* :-U

  • welcome home!!! Sounds like you had a great trip! Hey, a phone call would be super cool. If I get out to town I’ll try to give you a ring…who ever gets to it first. :) Hey lady…at your MK service. Have fun getting back into wedding plans. you’ll be walkin’ down that aisle before you know it. :) Love you!

  • hey clarita…sounds like your trip was awesome!  i’d love to hear more about it sometime…i have to agree with you…I’ve been thinking about the whole thing about what is my first identity lately…thanks for giving me some more thoughts…love you, girl…miss you, too…

  • hey girl! how are ya? i’m glad your back and that you had a wonderfuly trip!! i called you the other day and left you a message….hmmm….i guess you were probably still in Africa….lucky you! anyway, just wanted to “try” and catch up and all….love you!!!

    XOXO-Nat~*

  • So glad you’re back and didn’t get eaten by any lions while you were over there!

  • Hey my long lost friend!! hows ya been? so happy for ya! God’s been making dreams come true in a big way, no?! He amazes me! so good to us! love ya!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *