March 2, 2004

  • Hey hey!! No, we haven’t been lost in the city, we’ve just been, um, well, busy with things??  The time really does fly here, like anywhere else in the world, but it especially seems to go by so fast in this part of the planet… Spanish classes continue to be very interesting – my favorite part is when my teacher takes me to the market.  No really, we are learning more each day simply because of the immersion in this Spanish culture.  I am enjoying the classes too - Jan and my teachers are best friends so we’ve teamed up and played vocabulary games and gone to the market together. Me gusta!! It’s really great being able to communicate a little more, and this morning Jan and I were explaining some of our beliefs and convictions about certain areas, and they told us how they do and believe. It was really cool! I told my teacher yesterday that I want to go the flower market sometime, because the flowers so are gorgeous and so cheap down here. So this was the manana!! Jan and I and both of our teachers walked through the aisles of lovely flores and we were taught how to bargain for what we want. I bought a dozen pink roses for $2.50 US.  Not bad!! My teacher couldn’t believe it when I told her that the same flores would cost at least $25 US in the States. I was so pleased with my purchse, and hope to keep fresh flowers on hand at all times, if this is the going rate!! So many flowers are grown down here because of the tropical region, and the climate is splendid for the enhancement of the rosas!!


    I am really loving it here, and am so thankful that God has brought me to this colonial city!! Whenever God leads a person to a certain place, He has so much more in mind for her than simply a “route”, as in this case, studying Spanish. God has been dealing with my heart is so many areas, and some of it has been painful but yet He is answering my prayer that my heart become softened toward Him… We spent quite a few hours each day in class and in personal study, but there is a lot of time also for personal time with God, something I am so loving. I know that after these two months are over and I revert back to a job, I won’t have this kind of time anymore. I want to make the most of it and enjoy it to the fullest while I’m here! I’ll still be in Guatemala for 7.5 more weeks, but I’ll never have this particular day again! As the famous latin quote says, “Carpe Diem!”, which interpreted is “Seize the day!”


    It’s been fun getting to know people around the city, now that we’ve been here a week and a half. We recognize some of the merchants in the market, the vendors at central parque, and they know who we are too. I love this relational aspect of things, makes me feel like I’m more a part of life here in Antigua… And with the Spanish vocabulary increasing, it also makes the conversation un pequeno better as time goes on.


    Jana, Kris, and I are going on a little expedition this afternoon. The schools offers various activities throughout the week, and today it’s going to a small town outside of Antigua, where we will be able to see a Mayan wedding ceremony, some of the traditional foods served at such ceremonies, and some of the handicrafts of the Mayan people. Whether this will an actual ceremony or a replica, I’m not sure. A lot of things around this particular area are rather tourized, and there is a lot of business that pertains to tourists… But either way, it’ll be a good, new experience!!


    Thanks so much for all your prayers down here… for physical safety, and emotional and spiritual protection… We need it so much!!


    clarita <><

Comments (1)

  • Hey i am so glad you guys are enjoying your time there. Have you found the shop Katun yet? its lovely. and i am so glad you got to see Santa Domingo. When we walked in there i looked at Lillian and said “I`m getting married here!” Its so beautiful. Also make SURE you go see the Santa Clara ruins. That was my personal favorite. There are no words. I think its even more gorgeous than Santa Domingo. Let me know what you think about Katun and about Santa Domingo. Love ya guys, mLou

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *